Why Do We Go To School?

by

450x123_banner_school

grades

Why do we go to school? There are many answers to this question…. We go to better ourselves, to stay connected to trends, to make more money or to teach. Ultimately the answer should be… “we go to school to learn.” In the era of trophies for everyone, it seems we have lost sight of learning. Learning means you will not have a perfect score; you may not get an “A” and you will most definitely have to work hard, otherwise you are not really learning.

I must admit, in the throes of school there were moments when I was extremely frustrated when I did not receive a perfect score. There were a few classes where I racked my brain until I wanted to dump my laptop on its head and throw my books out the window. But the one thing that kept me going was the fact that I was growing. I was challenging myself to learn and do something different, something that did not always come easily.

Capstone was no different. In our weekly discussions, I completely missed the media objectives and did general objectives. I reviewed previous work and the objectives I had done were not focused on media, they were campaign or PR objectives. I was pretty hard on myself. It was the end of the program, how could I possibly get that wrong, after all I have learned? Then my professor said something, “I wish students weren’t so focused on the grades, but on the learning process.” I was suddenly reminded that even after two years, I am still learning.

Cheers to all of us for making this huge investment and a reminder that we all should strive to be learners even when we have reached the finish.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Why Do We Go To School?”

  1. Cleo Garcia Says:

    Thanks for the reminder that it’s all about learning. I submitted my final capstone and I’m also upset, my budget is all wrong, I’m terrible at math. My professor also mentioned the most important part of the capstone was learning the process and what it takes to do a professional IMC plan. Yes, the capstone is well worth the long hours and frustration of getting it all done in 8 weeks, I learned so much.

Leave a Reply

