You Can Do It!

by

post_banner_blog_pam

Recently I’ve been talking a lot with my niece who is starting back to school after having to take a break due to health issues. She had to drop out in her first semester of college because she was falling behind and wasn’t able to physically attend class for a while. Today is the first day of her semester and she’s already worried that she won’t be able to keep up, that maybe she will get sick again and, just maybe, she isn’t in the right field for her.

She’s neither alone or the first person to have ever been in this situation. Many of us have had to make similar decisions. Do we stay in school and tough it out, do we withdrawal before we lose our money and end up with a semester GPA that we may not recover from? These are difficult questions to answer and sometimes the decisions we make aren’t always the right ones.

When I was in undergrad I had to have emergency surgery. I was in my junior year and didn’t want to withdrawal from classes, but my recovery took longer than expected and even though I tried, I ended up with a low GPA that took me a while to recover from. I kept moving forward. I even ended up having to withdrawal from classes due to a move for my husband’s job. After taking a semester off and changing my major, I finally graduated after 7 years of school (4 part-time while I was working and 3 being a full-time student).

We are in the third week of a new semester and there are a couple of my classmates who have indicated that they’ve had to take some time off for one reason or another. They are back in the program now and looking forward to the challenges to come.

So, what’s my point? It’s that life happens, things get in the way and we have to make decisions that may make us put our goals on hold. If you’ve been in a master’s program that doesn’t seem like a great fit and are looking at the IMC program; take a chance, I don’t think you’ll regret it!

If you have to take a break remember you can always come back. You can pick up where you left off and you can achieve the goal you set for yourself. Your timeline may change but the end result will be the same. That’s one of the great things about the IMC program! If life happens and you need to take a break, you can step in out of the program based on your needs, not a school schedule that you have adhere to in order to graduate.

Remember…you CAN do it. As I told my niece this morning, the most important thing to remember is to take can’t out of your vocabulary. You CAN do anything you set your mind to.

 

you can do it

Leave a Reply

