WVU IMC Takes DC

by

post_banner_blog_nicole.jpg

Long time, no see. Well, sort of.

The obligatory selfie from my hotel room.

Two-and-a-half years ago, I proudly donned my cap and gown and graduated from the WVU IMC Program. Because I wouldn’t dream of missing the annual Integrate Conference, held in Morgantown each spring, I’m still able to catch up with old friends, meet new ones and of course – learn some new tricks from seasoned pros.

That’s why when I heard that the IMC Program was bringing a one-day Integrate Conference to Washington, D.C. on October 27, 2015, the nation’s capital and one of my absolute favorite cities, I couldn’t let the opportunity slip by.

I live in Ohio, the heart of it all, so Integrate DC was a very quick plane ride away. Since 2011, I’ve worked as a Marketing Coordinator for a non-profit organization headquartered in North Canton, Ohio, and one of our programs, the National Inventors Hall of Fame, is housed inside the United States Patent and Trademark Office located in Alexandria, Virginia. Instead of flying in solely for the conference, I was able to stop by our very own National Monument of Innovation, grab some photos for our social media pages and introduce myself to new staff.

The United States Patent and Trademark Office's Madison Building is quiet a beauty, especially with the leaves turning.

The United States Patent and Trademark Office’s Madison Building is quite a beauty, especially with the stunning colorful leaves

In reality – the conference was so amazing, it would have been completely worth the trip on its own! Five presenters, along with their anecdotes and advice, filled our morning with high-quality content.

Speakers for the day were Leslie Schrader, of Ketchum Washington, Michele Bartram of Business USA, Keith Quesenberry of Messiah University, Kurt Kehl of Monumental Sports and Entertainment and last but certainly not least, Eric Asche of Truth Initiative.

Some of the most memorable takeaways for me had to do with earned media, how to turn an old process into a better one, the importance of influencers and so many social media related pointers that I am grateful I took notes. These are all part of ongoing conversations at my job, and because I handle social media for our multiple programs, the words resonated with me.

Following the presentations, we took a short walk over to Ketchum Washington’s workspace, which was unbelievably and utterly epic (my apologies…there are no other words to describe this, I tried). The environment is one that certainly fosters creativity, and the team was extremely proud to show us completed national (and often, award-winning) projects they produced for clients.

We closed the day with a networking event at the HON Showroom. This was a beneficial way to get to know more about the people I had spent the day with and view quite possibly the most amazing office furniture showroom known to man. Can you tell I am fascinated by architecture and decorating?

I ended October 27 with new contacts, new experiences and better yet – a new bank of knowledge.

So, what’s next for me? I’ll be in the Washington, D.C. area November 17 for my organization’s Collegiate Inventors Competition Expo and unless there’s an unavoidable catastrophe  – Morgantown once more for the two-day Integrate Conference in June 2016.

Fun fact: During Integrate 2015, I sent my department leader an email with a high-level idea that came to mind during a presentation. I just had to send it right then, because I knew it was that good. And just this week luck was on my side, as several required pieces aligned seamlessly, and I received word it’s a go!

You never know where you’re next bit of inspiration will develop but as an alum of WVU IMC, I have the resources needed to make the most out of tasks I am given, large or small.

One Response to “WVU IMC Takes DC”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Hi! I am working on a website for a client and they are looking for a photo of the USPTO to use for a banner on their site.

    Would it be possible to use your photo if credit was given??

    Let me know, thanks so much!

    -Ashley

Leave a Reply

