Step Out of Your Comfort Zone!

by

post_banner_blog_pam4

This semester I am taking IMC641 Social Media and Marketing. It’s an elective and I chose it because social media is something I do at work and I wanted to get a better grasp on things. Let me just say, it’s been a challenge and has definitely made me step out of my comfort zone.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great class and I’m glad I chose to take it. At the same time, however, it’s making me realize that I don’t have a clue when it comes to social media beyond Facebook. There is a plethora of things I’ve learned this semester but there are a couple things I will definitely be taking away from this class.

  • There is no clear cut answer to the question of quality over quantity. Both are important and play a role in social media advertising. It is clear, however, that one, well placed post can make a huge impact for a company. Marketers need to always be ready, always be thinking and be willing to take chances.
  • Social media platforms are being created all the time. In order to stay in tuned companies need to focus energy on keeping up to date, knowing which platforms are relevant to the target market they are trying to reach. Marketers need to always be researching, learning and growing.
  • Most of all I learned that focusing on social media in my career is not something I really plan to do. While I enjoy the medium and it’s definitely something I will always participate in, there are other aspects of marketing that intrigue and interest me more.

Thus, my point that it’s good to take classes based on what you don’t know rather than what you do. Don’t choose classes on topics that you are familiar with or comfortable with. Choose classes that will challenge you, push you to do more research, and dig deeper inside your thought process. There are so many choices that do just that in this program. Don’t be afraid to take that step and challenge not only yourself but others in your class as well!

graphic for blog

Leave a Reply

