Just Ask!

by

post_banner_blog_pam5

We’ve all heard the saying that the only dumb question is the one not asked. While I agree with this in principle, it’s easier said than done at times. You might be afraid of looking silly or unintelligent in front of your peers or professors. If you’re like me, I often feel like if I can’t understand something, then how is someone going to understand me asking about it; especially when I have to relay my question through an email or discussion board post.

When I first started the IMC program, I didn’t feel comfortable asking questions either on the main discussion board or via a private email to the professor. I thought I was supposed to be smart enough to figure things out and I didn’t want to bother anyone. What I have found, however, is that if I’m struggling with something it’s likely that someone else is as well. After a couple classes, I started asking questions and found the information/feedback I received from teachers and my classmates helped me in more ways than just getting the answer I was looking for. It helped because it opened up a different type of discussion with the professor or a fellow classmate. It made me feel more a part of the group and gave me confidence that I wasn’t alone in not always being sure.

Be sure to ask questions in your discussion question responses when you’d really like to know what others in the class are thinking. Not everyone will respond, but the only way to create the opportunity is to ask the question in the first place.

Whether your questions are about the lesson or about something in general that you’d like to know about the program or the business we are all studying, don’t hesitate. That’s what this course of study is all about – learning from each other and the only way to do that is to “just ask!”

Voltaire

“Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers.” ― Voltaire

Leave a Reply

