Cheers from Cleveland

by

Hi, everyone! My name is Rachael Moses, and I am a new student ambassador/blogger for the IMC program.  I am currently taking my 4th and 5th classes of the program, and I’m so excited to begin sharing my experiences.

To start, I’ll share a bit about me.  I grew up in Lewis Center, Ohio, a town not far from Columbus, where much of my family still lives.  I am an avid yogi, frequent traveler, outdoor enthusiast, amateur runner, and mom to Steve the one-eyed cat.  I am actually in the process of becoming a yoga teacher and training for my first marathon (wish me luck)!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_1861

FullSizeRender-1

run

IMG_0805

I studied marketing and psychology at The Ohio State University and graduated with a BSBA in May of 2013.  While I was in school, I studied abroad in London, was active in the American Marketing Association, worked at The Apple Store, and went to every single OSU football game I possibly could.  I was lucky to have been able to take a semester off to travel Europe with my best friend; in eight weeks we made it to sixteen countries, and I haven’t been able to stand still since!  I also managed to sneak in a few internships while I was in school, and one led me to where I am today.

After graduation (and a quick cross-country road trip), I moved to Cleveland to work for American Greetings as a Marketing Analyst.  I’ve been here for two years now, and am currently an associate on the Target Strategic Account Management team.  In this role, I manage the planning and execution of Mother’s Day and Christmas cards in Target stores nationwide.  I’ve been so fortunate to work for such a creative company so early in my career. And I’ll tell ya, this city does not get enough credit.  I’ve had an incredible experience relocating to Cleveland, and having LeBron up here definitely doesn’t hurt!

IMG_0919

IMG_3689

Since taking my very first marketing class in high school, I have been enthralled by the subject.  Around the same time, I also developed an enormous interest in the study of psychology, and was fascinated by the thought of these two fields intersecting.  I couldn’t get enough of books like Blink by Malcolm Gladwell and Why We Buy by Paco Underhill.  Consumer behavior quickly became my focus, and I’ve been passionate about the study ever since.  This interest led me to study these topic in college, where I received an impeccable education that prepared me very well for the business world.  But now I’m ready to really make a splash.  I discovered quickly that I yearned to further my education, but in all honesty an MBA never called to me.  Researching alternatives is what led me to the IMC program, and the rest, as they say, is history.  I took IMC 610 this past January, and have thoroughly enjoyed my experience thus far.  The knowledge I have gained has already allowed me to stand out amongst my peers in the workplace and make meaningful contributions to the business.  This program has already opened up several exciting opportunities for me, and I am so grateful to have found it.

I am thrilled to be a representative of the IMC student body, and I welcome any and all questions, comments, anecdotes or anything else you’d like to share. Please don’t hesitate to reach out.  Alright y’all – let’s do this!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

