What’s In Your Pocket?

by

Picture this: You’re perusing Twitter and find a great article. You open the link and think to yourself that you’ll read it on your lunch break. Your lunch break finally comes and something else requires your attention. The next thing you know it’s the end of the day you never got around to reading your article, but you shut down your computer and lost the link. Sound familiar? This happened to me nearly every day…until I got Pocket.

Pocket  is a great little app that you can put on your smartphone, tablet, and your browser to keep track of the articles that catch your attention, but you don’t have time to read. When you come across great content that requires further investigation simply click on the Pocket icon on your browser and tag the content for easy sorting and categorizing.

PocketSmallPhoto

After that you can view the content on any of your devices when it’s convenient for you. I find Pocket extremely useful at conferences and during Twitter chats. These fast-paced learning opportunities can be further enhanced by categorizing content in Pocket.

The other feature of Pocket that I really like is the tagging feature. I can easily organize content by a variety of tools. I find Pocket to be a great way to organize articles that professors and students share in class so I can go back and revisit them later.

PocketBigPhoto

You can also integrate Pocket with more than 500 other apps including Flipboard, Zite, and Evernote and log in on any of your devices to read the content later. It’s a great way to stay organized and up-to-date on great content. If that sounds like a process that would work for you, check out Jamie Todd Rubin’s process

Any great articles currently in your Pocket?

4 Responses to “What’s In Your Pocket?”

  1. Julie Link Says:

    Pocket + Evernote is a winning combo. Letting those apps store the little things frees some headspace for bigger thinking.

  2. Ivan Gil (@ivandgil) Says:

    Great article and introduction to Pocket. I know when I was first introduced to Pocket I didn’t really think much of it. Now, it’s a part of my daily routine, but in a different way. I use IFTTT to integrate Pocket with many of my other applications with various tag based recipes. Here are just three ways in which I’m utilizing it, outside of the traditional “save for later” use.

    1. If new item tagged “Sarah”, then send an email from my email to Sarah. – This helps me save time if I just want to send stuff to my friend Sarah. Within IFTTT I have a predetermined email template (subject and body) that would be populated with the given link and images.
    2. If new item tagged “text me”, then send me an SMS. – Great for when you are switching between computer and mobile, especially when you find a place to go out.
    3. If new item tagged “buffer”, then add to Twitter Buffer. Although BufferApp has a Google Chrome extension, this allows me to save the article as well as Buffer it all in one click.

    The list of possibilities with Pocket are really endless when integrated with IFTTT. I highly recommend it. Check out IFTTTs list of public integrations for more ideas (https://ifttt.com/recipes/search?q=Pocket&ac=true)

    • KatShanahan Says:

      Thank you for reading. I’ve heard great things about IFTTT, but I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet. I appreciate you showing how you use the two together…it gives me ideas! I can’t wait to start experimenting! Thanks again for the great information!

Leave a Reply

