Millennial Musings

by

I’m a millennial. That means I like to tweet my favorite brands, take selfies, and wait hours in line for the latest iPhone…

… At least, that’s how some marketers like categorize me.

Oh yeah- I’m a marketer, too. As a millennial marketer whose job requires me to market to millennials on a daily basis, what happens when the marketer “me” tries to understand the millennial consumer “me?”

hello-millennial-feature

Millennial marketers, does being a millennial help you market better to the generation?

Adweek recently posted an article about how digital advertising network Exponential has categorized millennials based on the group’s reaction to three things: the economy, globalization and social media.

While we are known to dislike generalizations about our generation, I found the 12 millennial subgroups fascinating- Personally, I identify most as a Millennial Martha.

 

Here’s the list:

  1. Boss Babes
  2. Brogrammers
  3. The Underemployed
  4. Shut Out
  5. Nostalgics
  6. Travel Enthusiasts
  7. Culinary Explorers
  8. The Exuberants
  9. The Collectors
  10. The Quarter-Life Crisis Millennial
  11. Millennial Marthas
  12. Millennial Moms

 

How will marketers categorize Gen Z into subgroups?

-R

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

