Hello from Connecticut!

by

Hello everyone! I’m very excited to be writing to you today as one of the newest contributors to the IMC Student Blog. I am just about halfway through the Integrated Marketing Communications program at WVU and I think that this new chapter in my journey through the program will be a fun one.

My name is Robert (you can read more about me on the IMC Student Ambassadors page) and I’m writing to you from my home in South Windsor, Connecticut — part of the IMC program’s New England contingent! Thanks to the IMC Community page, I can see that some fellow New Englanders are part of the program, and I hope blogging for the IMC Student Blog might help to connect me with more of them!

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 8.30.31 PM

Born and raised in Connecticut, I also received my undergraduate degree here, studying Environmental Interpretation at Central Connecticut State University. I’m a huge UCONN fan, but am making some room in my heart for the Mountaineers now that there is no longer a Big East rivalry with my Huskies. I am told that as long as I’m not a Pitt fan, I can peacefully co-exist with my fellow Mountaineers even though I bleed blue — that’s good, because one of my favorite moments in life is still when Kemba Walker hit a buzzer beating, step back jumper, while Pitt’s McGee struggled to keep himself off the floorboards. There is no love lost between Pitt and I, so it looks like I am in good company at WVU.

Currently, I’m an Associate of Marketing and Outreach at the Clean Energy Finance and Investment Authority (CEFIA), a quasi-public agency in Connecticut. I’m involved in general marketing and outreach, but focus much of my energy on hyper local outreach and marketing campaigns as well as on the coordination of social media efforts. I’ve learned a ton of great information in the IMC program that I’ve been able to start using immediately at CEFIA. Strategies and information I learned about in IMC 641 – Social Media and Marketing (one of my favorite courses so far) are informing the decisions I make on daily basis and the insights I’ve gained in other courses are improving my work product as a whole.

If I’m not busy at CEFIA or working on my latest IMC assignment, I’m probably rooting for one of my favorite sports teams, tinkering with my DSLR, or spending time with my dog, Quinn. This is me, my dog Quinn, and my cousin Lisa taking a hike up Mount Chocorua in New Hampshire this past summer.

Image

Beautiful hike with my dog and cousins!

It’s nice to “meet” you all and I’m looking forward to writing again and sharing more about my IMC experiences!

– Robert

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Hello from Connecticut!”

  1. rolsavsky286 Says:

    Hi Robert! Nice to meet a fellow student new to the IMC blogging team! I’m glad to hear that Social Media Marketing was one of your favorite classes- I plan to take the course sometime soon. Look forward to reading your posts!

  2. robschmitt Says:

    It is a great course — and best of all I feel like I produced a portfolio-ready piece! Looking forward to reading your posts as well!

Leave a Reply

