A Look Back at Summer

by

As we begin our IMC Week 2, I thought I’d do a quick recap about how I spent my summer break. I remember from school that this was a popular topic second only to the dreaded what did you get for Christmas? interrogation.

Not since high school do I remember feeling the urgency of summer as much I did this past month. It’s a feeling of let’s hurry up and relax – or not relax and get out and do stuff. I was like Bill Duke’s character in Predator after he finally loses his mind. “I’m gonna have me some fun. I’m gonna have me some fun.” Summer usually feels like any other segment of the year, but this year I found myself trying to entertain a 3-year-old to make up for all my busyness during the school year.

Houston is not a place where you can just stumble into fun. The city with its surrounding suburbia pockets is too big for that. Fun has to be researched and found, or you will miss out. I don’t know how many years the circus has been coming to town, but this was the first year that I noticed the billboards before the troupe had already left town. Motherhood must have sharpened my senses.

The Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus was probably the highlight of the summer. Not just because of the hilarity of watching my husband be more impressed than my son – the kid was more interested in his lollipop than a performer riding a motorcycle on a wire. “Mommy that’s dangerous.” I didn’t know it at the time, but the circus would also be a pre-consolation for my elephant figurines that the two would later take turns breaking. It’s easy to see from the balance of photos that this is my favorite animal.

Elephants during the preshow.

Circus elephants during the preshow.

Elephants playing during the preshow.

A little flirting before the show.

Circus preshow entertainment

Circus preshow entertainment.

Motorcycle on a wire.

“Mommy that’s dangerous.”

Lion and tigers 1

Lion and tigers. (Oh my!)

Lion and tigers 2

Guess who’s coming to dinner?

Elephants on a stool

The things they make us do.

Elephants sitting

Does this trainer make me look fat?

Elephants laying down

Whew, I’m exhausted!

During the summer month, we also attempted to give our son his first experience at the movies. Little did I know that an episode of Curious George had already done that. He knew exactly where to look for the projector and immediately called me out for trying to cheat him out of the popcorn and soda part of the experience. I’ll be right back.

We also managed to squeeze in a couple of family visits, take advantage of our community pool, and celebrate my husband’s birthday. On our last dash for fun, my husband and I went on a date “day” and saw The Butler with Forest Whitaker and Oprah Winfrey. This movie made me cry, left me (almost) speechless, and turned out to be the perfect ending to a short-lived but satisfying break.

While we didn’t take in the entire town, here are a few additional highlights to take in if you ever find yourself in Houston, TX.

Downtown Houston

Downtown Houston area

The Toyota Center

Home of the Houston Rockets and now Dwight Howard

Reliant Stadium Exterior

Reliant Stadium – home of the Houston Texans

Reliant Stadium bulls

Entrance to Reliant Stadium

Houston Galleria area

Houston Galleria area

Williams Waterwall

Williams Waterwall

Williams Tower

Williams Tower

Waterwall Park

Waterwall Park

Who all hit the ground running during Week 1, and who all found themselves still groggy from summer?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

