Integrate 2013 Day One: Technology has changed everything

by

Technology has changed everything. That seemed to be the theme of day one of the IMC Integrate 2013 conference. And what better example than the IMC program itself? I’ve been a WVU IMC student for 2.5 years and today was the first day I set foot on the WVU Campus. (Of course, it took me an extra 30 minutes, a few wrong turns — including turning the wrong way on a one-way street — before my feet actually touched the ground, but that’s a story for another blog post) Technology has changed the way we learn, the way we interact, the way we communicate, and the way we live our lives.

 

Fellow student blogger, Julie Long has already posted a great re-cap of the opening session, which featured some fantastic real examples of how West Virginia University is using technology to advance their marketing. I’ll focus this post on the two breakouts I attended: 1. Emerging Media for Branding and Career Success, and 2. Love, Lies and Deception: Social Media Ethics – What You Need to Know. Social media was definitely the hot topic of the day!

 

In Emerging Media for Branding and Career Success Professors Dawn Edmiston and Rachael Post talked about the importance of establishing your own brand. Or should I say, the importance of being in control of your brand, because, like it or not, a brand is being created for you thanks to social networking whether you realize it or not. So you best be in charge of this brand image or it could get ugly! A few tips from the speakers that I found particularly valuable:

  1. Set-up a Google Alert for your name
  2. Personalize your LinkedIn url and make sure you’ve achieved 100% on your profile
  3. Create your own digital content that represents you and your personal brand image
  4. Plug-in to online tribes
  5. Create a profile on www.brandyourself.com

 Image

In breakout session number two Professor Joe Barnes gave us a ton of examples of how social and digital media have changed the world of communication. A few even scared me a bit, like the video game released 1 week after the Boston Marathon, simulating the events. Or the Hyundai ix35 suicide commercial. Professor Barnes showed us, through these real-world case studies, not only how social media is impacting the world but also the importance of social media ethics. A few of his tips for protecting your company:

  1. Have a social media policy. If you don’t have one or don’t know where to start, there’s a great template at www.socialmedia.org
  2. Be sure to stay up-to-date on social media law. The law is still catching up to the technology and constantly evolving. One way to stay on top of these changes is to set-up a Google alert. Professor Barnes also recommend the JD Supra Law News. They have a newsletter just for social media law!
  3. Be careful about the data you share…especially via mobile apps. Remember that there are no general privacy laws that cover mobile apps and every time you (or your kids) download an app or a game on a mobile device information is being collected and stored.
  4. And my favorite bit of advice: “Don’t lie to your mom!” This bit actually comes from Andy Sernovitz, who is the author of Word of Mouth Marketing. But, as a mom and a digital marketer, I think this is the best advice I’ve heard all year.

 

Of course, this is just a snippet of the insight and information gleaned from today. But now I’m off to the networking reception to meet some more classmates and professors! Let’s hope I don’t turn the wrong way down any one-way streets this time!

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Integrate 2013 Day One: Technology has changed everything”

  1. Tracey Gould Says:

    Excellent insight on two of the breakout sessions — the two I didn’t attend, which works perfectly for me. Technology is absolutely a main driver in our industry, promoting rapid change and requiring IMC pros to be nimble, flexible, and quick on their feet to stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest tools. Social media tends to be one area that gets a lot of attention year after year because it is constantly evolving, and it appears as though social media is here to stay. Practitioners who resist to the social media movement need to get on board. Great summary!

  2. Valerie Ater Says:

    Great ‘snippet’ on today’s sessions. You highlighted some of the major points of both sessions, which I also attended. Thanks for posting them as I couldn’t write fast enough and get them all down.

    I too loved the closing slide in Jor Barnes’ ” Love, Lies & Deception” breakout session- “Don’t Ever Lie to Your Mom” Andy Sarnovitz.

  3. Jerome Brown Says:

    Looking at the highlights you provided about the ding and career success session makes me wish I could be in two places at once. I now have one more domain to visit and keep up to date with brandyourself.com. I plan on looking at that in the coming days to see how that can improve my online exposure. LinkedIn profiles are almost a full time job in and of themselves. It seems the development group at LinkedIn has a never ending process for expanding your profile but that’s a good thing. It reminds me of the questionnaire I had to complete when joining eHarmony (where my wife and I met…a true life success story). It all boils down to you get what you are willing to give. The more detail you can provide and the more honest input you give, the better the results are. I have to spend more time on my LinkedIn profile for sure but it already tells me that my profile strength is at the All Star level so I can’t be doing too bad right? I just can’t get that darn blue button to “improve your profile” to go away! Guess it is just a reminder that we should all strive for continuous improvement.
    The last point that Joe Barnes made “Don’t lie to your mother” made me think of another quote from Mark Twain “If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.” Good rule of thumb.
    Here’s to a great day tomorrow! Enjoy and soak it all in my fellow IMCers.

    • jelise2012 Says:

      Jerome – love that quote from Mark Twain…it’s always been one of my favorites! I’m glad I could give you some insight into one of the sessions you missed.

  4. Rebecca Agner Says:

    Yesterday’s sessions were so helpful to me! The social media ethics provided excellent information – now I feel better equipped to stay on top of social media ethics and law and in a better position as an advisor to my organization. We all reacted suitably to the horrible scenarios in the ethics session, but as the presenter said, some communications person saw the ad – and (my words here) didn’t fight hard enough for what it right. I’m going home reminding myself to be a warrior for what is right!

    • jelise2012 Says:

      Rebecca, that’s what struck me, too…that a group of professionals sat in a room nodding their heads and saying “yeah, this is a great idea!”

  5. Valerie Ater Says:

    I loved Joe Barnes’ ” Love, Lies & Deception” so much that I registered for his Late Fall Emerging Media class. I ‘ll always be more situationally aware of my surroundings thanks to his comments about smart phones and unsolicited photos that one might find themselves in!

    • jelise2012 Says:

      Valerie – I’m registered for that class, too!! Should be a good one. See you on the discussion boards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

