Graduation Weekend

by

What a wild few weeks it’s been! Graduation, submitting my final project for Capstone and working made mid-May memorable for sure!

Graduation took place Saturday, May 18, 2013 for our program. If you weren’t there, you sure missed a fun few days!

After putting the finishing touches on my Capstone project the Thursday before, I took it to my local FedEx store to print and ship. I flipped through the book a few times after it was printed and kept exclaiming “I did this! I did this!” Needless to say, the store employees weren’t nearly as excited as I was, but I did take a photo before sending it in the mail!Shout it from the rooftops..."My project is submitted!"

I spent much of Friday, before heading from Ohio to Morgantown, at a local school during their Grandparents and Special Friends Day event. One of my good friends has three daughters and they needed one more guest for their family, so I volunteered to attend as the Special Friend of the most awesome 5th grader I know, Liliana. I had fun spending the day with her and she had fun telling everyone her “grandma” was 27. We spent the day watching a school play, looking at her classrooms and learning about the curricula her school covers.

Lili and her self portrait

Lili and her self portrait

After the visit was over, I packed and drove to Morgantown where I had the privilege of getting to finally meet a few of my fellow virtual Mountaineers for dinner at The Vintage Room! Meeting them was so incredible because these are people I talk to on a regular basis and feel like I’ve known forever. Chatting with them was no different than chatting with people I see every day…there is truly a special bond between us IMC students.

Saturday morning was graduation in the Creative Arts Center followed by a picnic for all IMC Grads and their families. My parents were able to attend the ceremony and they enjoyed meeting everyone they’ve heard so much about!

2013 Grads Lisa, Kayla, Me, Joyce V. and Joyce P. Skyping with our friend Megan in London, also a 2013 Grad!

IMC Pals for Life: 2013 Grads Lisa, Kayla, Me, Joyce V. and Joyce P. Skyping with our friend Megan in London, also a 2013 Grad, during the picnic!

Words can’t describe how wonderful the experience was. We are all very lucky to be a part of such a well-respected Master’s Degree program and one that cares so much about its students.

Since beginning the program in 2010, I had wondered what graduation weekend would be like. Three years ago, I was just beginning the program and wasn’t sure if I’d have the means to attend, not to mention May 2013 seemed like ages away. Now that I’m finished with all 13 courses, I can honestly say this has been a terrific journey and I appreciated this opportunity each and every day.

A few of us even made it in the The Dominion Post! What a happy bunch!

This isn’t goodbye quite yet – I’ll be attending the Integrate Conference this weekend! Leave a comment if you’ll be there!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Graduation Weekend”

  1. juliealong Says:

    Congrats, Nicole! See you at Integrate this weekend.

  2. Valerie Ater Says:

    Congratulations Nicole! Looking forward to seeing you once again!

Leave a Reply

