Customer Service is Still Key

by

Customer ServiceIn this new world of communication – text, tweets, chats – some companies are forgetting how important good customer service is to customer loyalty.  In my opinion, one is the offshoot of the other.  Is it really easier to have me chat with you about a problem I am having then call me and do everything you can to solve my issue?  Aren’t you willing to pay a little more for a product or service if you know that if you have a problem it will be easily, quickly resolved?  That is one aspect of brand loyalty.

I worked in the cable business for many years and until recently had service from a company that will remain nameless but is owned partially by NBC Universal…hint, hint.  Despite years of customer complaints their customer service is still lacking in many aspects – representatives that you cannot understand, inane phone trees to get to a department and what I find as a attempt to have all troubleshooting done over the Internet versus the ability to speak to an actual human being.  I will be switching services this week after my wife spent over 4 hours on the phone with them trying to solve a HSD issue…even when we subscribe to their higher end customer troubleshooting service. Plus she was “disconnected” 3 times in the process and had to call back.  Really?   I have no customer loyalty.  It’s pretty sad that we have gone away from the “do whatever it takes to keep a customer mentality.”

On the other hand, I recently bought a a couple of URL’s from GoDaddy.com.  And, while I a not a particular fan of their advertising strategy, their customer care is outstanding.  I had trouble setting up my Outlook Exchange service with one of my URL’s and connect it to my mobile phone.  I called GoDaddy support, got right through and a wonderful young lady spent 2 hours with me troubleshooting, getting answers and instead of putting me on hold for minutes at a time suggested that she call me back after she investigated some of the issues.  And she did, within minutes.  She was outstanding and understood the value to keeping me happy with her company’s service even though it is a commodity and can be purchased in dozen of other places.  Just like cable, HSD and phone services through a cable or satellite provider.  GoDaddy has a customer for life.

To call companies, remember how important good customer service it and how much it helps with brand loyalty.  It cost 2x the amount of money to win me back as it did to get me as a customer in the first place.

Til next time!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Customer Service is Still Key”

  1. http://www.trajnost.net/wiki2/index.php/Uporabnik:EusebiaEg Says:

    Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other
    sites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would really like
    to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors
    would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  2. www.helptmc.blogspot.co.uk Says:

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently
    rapidly.

Leave a Reply

