Editing with Grammarly

by

Microsoft Word might be the program of choice for word processing, but that does not mean that you have to use the grammar tool provided. Instead, I put my trust in an online tool called Grammarly, which claims to be, “The World’s Best Grammar Checker.”

Grammarly Logo

Grammarly takes the hassle out of the proofreading process. It saves me the time and hassle of finding another set of eyes. This paid service will always be there for me on my terms even at 11:30pm right before an assignment is due.

The editing process:

When I finish a writing assignment, I copy and paste my text in the online Grammarly platform and hit review. The uploaded copy can be reviewed for either general, business, academic, technical, creative, or casual. A percentage is returned based on the content, and suggestions with examples help to teach me the error of my ways. As I continue to use the online tool for both academic and business articles, a cumulative writing digest is summarized highlighting my areas for overall improvement.

Screen shot 2013-01-27 at 3.54.28 PM

A plug-in is also available for Microsoft Word, which means copy could be checked within the program. The beauty of the online platform, on the other hand, gives me the freedom to travel and work outside of Microsoft Word. Feel free to leverage this tool on your next assignment.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Editing with Grammarly”

  1. Carrie Nagy (@Carrie_Nagy) Says:

    Hi,
    It looks great, is it really worth $12 a month?

    Carrie

  2. juliealong Says:

    Carrie,

    I have found it tremendously helpful despite the cost because I can use it both academically and professionally. I signed up for a free trial first to make sure I really felt it was worth it.

    Another option is http://www.whitesmoke.com/.

Leave a Reply

