A Busy Fall

by

Are you enjoying your Early Fall class(es)? I’m taking Political Marketing and learning a lot! Last week, I was able to write a paper about a key race here in Ohio, the Senate match-up between Sherrod Brown and Josh Mandel. Through my research, I learned more about each candidate than I ever could have imagined, which in turn, makes me a more educated voter and IMC student.

It is great that I get to gain knowledge about the election in class, because I’ve had a busy month overall. With work, a trip to Denver and battling an ear infection that doesn’t want to go away, my bursts of energy have been few and far between.

One thing that political season reminds me of is where I was just four short years ago. During the fall of 2008, I was working two part time jobs, one of them in my field and the other shelving books at my local library. I was really hoping for a full-time job – any full-time job – to come my way. A few months later, things started to come together and I was able to take on a marketing role at the library, in addition to steady contract work for another non-profit. I was working a lot but still anxious to find something full-time.

Today, I am at a job that is better than anything I could have asked for. I love the company, the people and am truly happy. In 2016, I’ll be looking back at where I was during Fall 2012, and most likely thinking of how close I was to graduating with my master’s degree!

Has your professional career changed in the past four years? Share your story in the comments section!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

