Summertime Makes Me Feel Fine

by

Every year around this time I look forward to having a family vacation that involves fun in the sun, sand between my toes, and listening to the soothing sounds of the ocean waves live and in person. Last year, my husband and I decided to take the kids on a cruise to the Bahamas and visit the amazing Atlantis resort. Mind you, this was before I decided to enroll in the IMC program.

As the summer crept upon us, I honestly started to feel a little anxious about taking a summer vacation while being in full fledged “school mode”. Knowing that the purpose of the vacation was to relax and unwind, in the back of my mind I was feeling quite hesitant about how I was going to be able to keep up with my assignments while being on a weeks vacation in the middle of the Atlantic ocean. However, I’m happy to say…it all worked out.

20120715-230130.jpg

With two kids, one portable DVD player and snacks in tow, my husband and I drove seven hours from Atlanta to Port Canaveral, where we embarked our ship and set sail for the Bahamas. Prior to leaving, I looked up the cost associated with accessing Wi-Fi and made sure my iPad was fully charged. I found a quiet space on the ship and wrote out my assignment before typing it on the online Blackboard to avoid wasting valuable internet time…that we were paying for. Every second counted.

20120715-231557.jpg

After I completed my assignment, it was back to what we came for – quality family time. If you’ve never been to Atlantis, add it to your list of places to see. From the aquarium to the waterparks, the entire experience is AMAZING.

20120715-232323.jpg

20120715-232414.jpg

20120715-232517.jpg

20120715-232548.jpg

So if you want to plan a vacation or getaway while you’re in the program, do it. Just be prepared by making arrangements to either complete your assignments while on vacation, or chat with your professor about how to submit assignments during personal or work travel. You can still have a life while in grad school. You just have to prioritize and plan for it.

~Rukiya

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Summertime Makes Me Feel Fine”

  1. Noelle Pina (@NoellePina) Says:

    HI Rykiya! I’m from the Bahamas and I completed my IMC program while living there! Glad to see you enjoyed your trip!

    • rukiyacampbell Says:

      Hi Noelle – That was my first time visiting. We had a blast. I’ll definitely be back.

  2. AClausen Says:

    Congrats Rukiya. I just completed the IMC program in May and took my classes all over with me while traveling for work (Israel, Switzerland, London). It’s what I loved about the program – all the strange places you can find yourself doing discussion board posts. Good luck completing the program!

    • rukiyacampbell Says:

      Thanks, Amy! I’m finding being able to travel and still complete my studies is the best thing going. Congrats to you as well for recently completing the program 🙂

  3. Krishna Prendergast Says:

    Hi Rukiya – The Bahamas is calling me! Never been, but I’ve been seeing so much about it lately – especially Atlantis. It’s on my list – maybe a nice reward for when I finish IMC. Loved your photos. Thanks for giving us a sneak peek….

Leave a Reply

