Learning social media from unexpected sources

by

Over the past few weeks I’ve realized I talk about social media a lot. And by a lot, I mean all the time.

I came to this conclusion a few weeks back while visiting my favorite Canton flower shop. I stopped in to look around and noticed an item featured on the store’s Facebook page. I mentioned it while checking out, and the owner said that was great to hear because she was worried no one sees her posts. The wheels in my brain started turning and I quickly recommended an article that was sent to me from Mashable, which described the best days and times to post on Facebook.

And just this past weekend, a tech-savvy 12-year-old was telling me about how she and her classmates keep in touch during the summer via Instagram. Before our conversation, I thought Instagram was for people who traveled frequently, those who wanted to share photos of their families and avid photography buffs. Turns out – it’s awesome, and without her help setting it up on my phone, I never would have tried it. I’m now hooked!

I’m sure my florist didn’t expect to talk social media with a customer while someone too young to create a Facebook account introduced me to a new platform. If you keep your eyes, ears and mind open, you can learn from anyone!

Have you learned about a social media platform or app from an unexpected source? What’s your favorite social media tool?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

