Welcome to The World of IMC!

by

Hi IMCers!  My name is Steve Jaworowski and I will be your Blog Director for the next twelve moths.  I am really looking forward to sharing my experiences and insight on the WVU IMC program and my 23 years in marketing.

First, a little about me personally…it always helps to know who you are talking too, right?

I have been happily married to my beautiful wife, Suzanne for 21+ years (November 30) and we have four incredible kids – Matt (16), Jayne (15), Mary Kate (13) and Sarah (10).  Not sure how Suzanne and I did it but I really think so far we have nailed this parenting thing.

The Jaws Family

We currently live in Fisher, IN, outside Indianapolis, but if you read my profile, you can see I have lived in Seoul, Korea and Toronto and everywhere in between.  I have worked in the higher education space for two years after 15 years with AOL and then Time Warner Cable, after the merger.  I work for Harrison College, a for-profit college.  Harrison College offers certificates, associate and bachelor degrees across five schools of study 0 IT, Business, Criminal Justice, Health Science and Vet Technology. But more about that later.

I attended North Carolina State University for 2 years before transferring to the University of Scranton to be closer to home. Yes, home of The Office.

I worked for an advertising agency right out of school for six years, spent 15 years with AOL/TW, as mentioned earlier and now here i am in higher-ed…and I love it!  I am passionate about anything to do with Notre Dame football –

Touchdown Jesus, aka, Hesburgh Library at the University of Notre Dame

– follow high school and college lacrosse religiously, play a terrible game of golf and am about to embark on scuba diving lessons with my wife.  My true passion, however, are my family and friends.  People make the world go ’round.  Throughout the year, I will continue to share some tidbits about my life outside of work and school.  I promise not to make it into a version of the Housewives of New Jersey!

My second passion in life is marketing.  I went to school to become a marketer and have never looked back.  The WVU IMC program is really, after 23 years, bringing it all together for me.  I don’t necessarily need a master degree at this point in my career but have learned the value of education in the past two years and am learning more then I thought I ever would.  I am taking the summer session off because of some work commitments but am looking forward to taking IMC 614 – Media Analysis in the Fall.  One of the reason work is busy right now is that I am giving a talk at our trade association’s annual convention next week.  The Association of Private Sector College and Universities is an organization of accredited, private, post-secondary schools, institutes, colleges and universities that provide career-specific educational programs. My breakout session is entitled, Why Branding in Higher Education Matters.  My hope is to share with you some of the key points in that discussion through this blog.

In my opinion, higher education, at least in the for-profit sector, focuses too much on generating leads and inquiries for new prospective students in detriment to the brand of the institution. All good marketers will tell you that you have to have integration (Hi IMC Program!) in your efforts.  My next blog will focus on giving you the first of three reasons you need to brand in higher education. Whether WVU, Harvard or Harrison College, it does matter.  So, as a bit of a teaser here is reason number one…the bubble has burst!  Growth in for-profit higher ed is slowing. Year over year student enrollment growth has declined from a high of 24% in 2009 to a negative 22% a year ago June. WOW.

In any case, that’s my teaser and I am sticking to it.

I am really looking forward to sharing more with you down the road. Cheers!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Welcome to The World of IMC!”

  1. Cindy Stella Says:

    Great to see a new blogger! I’m in my 5th class in the IMC program. Higher education is definitely a whole different world – been in it for 15 years on the state university side. Many factors go into a student’s decision for a college, and they definitely vary from the reasons people buy products or choose services. Brand, as you point out, is still critical though. 🙂 Some of the new laws in higher (COAA and HEOA) and the drafted White House score card for higher education is going to make branding and marketing even more interesting in the coming years.

  2. Valerie Lee Ater Says:

    Hi Steve, So nice to hear about you in greater detail than the introduction posting in a class we took together in Early Spring 2012- Marketing Research and Analysis.

    Good luck with your conference and break out sessions!!!

    What will you be taking in the Fall 2012? I am taking a full load this fall ( if I make it through all 4 classes)!! Early Fall- DIrect Marketing and Political Marketing; Late Fall- Creative Strategy & Execution and Healthcare Marketing. Hope to see your name on the class member list of a future class.

    Looking forward to your future blogs…

    Valerie Lee Ater

    • stevejaws Says:

      Hey Valerie:

      I have been on vacation and slammed I am so sorry i am just no responding…with 4 kids in the summer I cannot remember what I did yesterday. I am taking Media Analysis in the Fall term….actually looking forward to getting back to it…hope you are having a nice summer. Steve

  3. Lisa Oriss Sands Says:

    Hi Steve. I am a 20+year career person also and I love connecting with folks who have lots of experience. Love this field because it is changing daily! I am on schedule to graduate next spring. I will look forward to reading your posts. I think I have four more classes…lose track sometimes.

Leave a Reply

