A well-designed session

by

Hello from Practice Safe Design: Use a Concept, with Bill Pitzer. The title is actually much funnier when you say it aloud. I saw Bill’s presentations last year (and blogged about it) and found it very valuable for the non-graphically inclined like myself. So, I wanted to come back for more. We’re starting with some rules for creativity that Bill assembled for a team of editors:

20120602-142234.jpg

20120602-142418.jpg

We’re looking at examples of how images and text are processed by our brains at the same time. He’s just shown an ad featuring the most interesting man in the world and I seem to be the only one in the room who’s never seen it before. Either I’m really out of the loop these days or this campaign never made it to Seattle. I hope it’s the latter, because I do enjoy Dos Equis.

(My record of the brainstorming session is being withheld to protect the innocent. If you were there, then you know.)

On to the importance of grids in graphic design, even in layouts that appear to be circular, full-page, etc. Turns out, the design of many pieces is often based on a grid that may no longer be obvious in the final piece.

20120602-145142.jpg

It’s time to learn about Charles and Ray Eames.

We’re closing with a plug for IMC 635. I didn’t have the chance to take it, so I hope that many of you do.

Hard to believe the final sessions of the conference are already coming up. I’ll post again from tonight’s dinner.

2 Responses to “A well-designed session”

  1. Laura Phillips Garner Says:

    I took IMC 635. I appreciated putting the theories of design into IMC practice. I recommend it highly.

  2. Laura Phillips Garner Says:

    I took IMC 635 and recommend it highly.

Leave a Reply

