Me? An Integrated Marketing Communicator?

by

Hello! My name is Kevin Hart. I hope you had a great summer and are ready to dive into the new semester. I am really looking forward to reconnecting with my former classmates as well as meeting my new classmates and instructor. For those of you who are just starting the IMC program and might be a little nervous I want to assure you that if I can do it you can too.

When I Was a Rock Star

You see, I am one of those people who didn’t know what they wanted to be when they grew up so my educational and career path haven’t followed what you might call a “logical” progression. I’ve been a musician, typesetter, youth pastor and customer service representative just to name a few.

When I took my first class, Introduction to IMC, in the Fall of 2009 I was worried that having an Associates Degree in Graphics Communications and a Regents Bachelor of Arts Degree were going to leave me at a disadvantage in a program that was likely going to be filled with Journalism, PR, Advertising and Marketing professionals.

What made me think I’d fit in with “professional” marketing people?

Well, I am happy to report that I’m starting my fifth course, PR Concepts and Strategy this semester and I’ve never once felt like I didn’t belong. One of the things that has most impressed me about the IMC program is how often I feel like a colleague, instead of  a student, among my classmates and instructors. I learn just as much from my classmates as I do my instructors and I encourage you to reach out to your fellow students and instructors both in and outside of the “classroom”.

Here are a few things that have helped me.

  • Find and friend your classmates and instructors on Facebook.
  • Follow your classmates and instructors on Twitter.
  • Attend next years Integrate conference. There’s nothing like meeting your classmates and instructors face-to-face.

You can find me on most of the major social networks. I look forward to getting to know you.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Me? An Integrated Marketing Communicator?”

  1. Elyse Anderson Says:

    Kevin,
    I totally agree with what you said about feeling “like a colleague, instead of a student, among my classmates and instructors.” That is one of the best thing about this program. Your ideas and comments are met with open minds, respectful commentary and thoughtful critiques. “Meeting up” on social media site is great too. Even after you’ve had a class with someone, you find yourself engaging with them and offering support (because hey, it’t not all fun and games) on Facebook. I’ve got a few classmates I’m hoping to meet for the first time at graduation in May and I thank Facebook for our continued relationship throughout the program.

    I look forward to hearing more from you Kevin – the IMC Rock Star!

    • kghart Says:

      Thanks for the feedback Elyse. It has bee a pleasure getting to know you over the last couple of years. I’ll look forward to meeting you in May.

Leave a Reply

