My Love Affair With IMC

by

Hi everyone! Welcome to my blog! My name is Ainsley and I will be writing throughout the summer about my experiences with the program, my personal life, my professional life and how they integrate together. I have been in the IMC program since the Fall of 2009 and have been loving it ever since.

During the Summer months, I will be taking Emerging Media and the Market (IMC 619) with Rachael Post and Cause Marketing (IMC 624) with Professor Nancy E. Furlow while taking you all along for the ride! Emerging Media and the Market is one of the core courses for the program and I selected Cause Marketing as one of my electives.

I will be graduating in the Fall of 2011 and am really excited for all the opportunities that my career will have in the future. Here are some things about me so you all can get to know me a little bit better.

I have lived in Morgantown for about 7 years now but my home is in Baltimore, MD. I have loved living here and enjoying everything Morgantown has to offer but will soon be moving back to Baltimore when I am finished with my IMC Masters Degree. There are endless opportunities in the Baltimore/Washington Metro area and I am excited to see what is out there!

My husband Stephen and I have been married for 10 months now and have been together for 4 years. He is also attending WVU in the School of Medicine and will be moving with me to Baltimore when he is finished with his degree. We have an amazing life here Morgantown with our furry kids, Gracie and Lillian. Those two are our world and they are some spoiled pets!

Stephen, Gracie, and I in our holiday photo

Currently, I am working as a Branch Operations Supervisor at a local West Virginian Bank, Clear Mountain Bank. I have worked there for 3 years and have met a lot of great people and learned a lot about the banking industry. On a daily basis, I wait on customers and try to cater to their financial needs whether it be opening checking, savings, and other types of accounts, processing personal loans, and taking care of any problems they might have with their accounts.

Where I have worked for the past 3 years.

Sports pretty much run our household during the seasons that our favorite teams are playing. WVU has always been a mutual team that my husband and I enjoy watching and you could call us Mountaineer Fanatics! Here is one example of us taking our love of the Mountaineers and adding it into our wedding cake.

Our Grooms Cake Courtesy of Charm City Cakes (Ace of Cakes) with the iconic Woodburn Hall, the PRT system, and a Mountaineer carved in chocolate.

Baltimore and Morgantown have my heart and will both be home to me. I don’t know how many of you have ever been to either city, so I will highlight some of the great things that I have enjoyed about the two cities.

Baltimore

Morgantown

Baltimore/Morgantown

The amazing part of Baltimore is the seafood that they have to offer. Stephen and I love to eat seafood, especially crabs. Freshly steamed blue crabs are a Baltimore tradition and it is something that the city is famous for. Eating crabs is something that I grew up doing and get excited each summer to have crab feasts with family and friends.

Maryland Crabs

One of my favorite things about Morgantown is the WVU football season. Each game the whole city turns into a tailgating heaven! During football games, Morgantown actually becomes the biggest city in West Virginia. Shows you how much this city loves their Mountaineers. I am proud to say that I am and always will be a Mountaineer!

Me and my husband in Morgantown on a football gameday.

Well folks, I will leave you with one last line which is what my blog will be all about.

“Without passion, you don’t have energy; without energy, you have nothing. Nothing great in the world has been accomplished without passion.” -Donald Trump

Having passion about life, work, and IMC is what my life is all about!

Ains

3 Responses to “My Love Affair With IMC”

  1. Linda Boyland Says:

    Beautiful Day for Pickin’ Crabs at the Farm and for Celebrating that other Baltimore “crab” …Michael Clem’s b-day!!

  2. Dana H. Says:

    Hello Ainsley! First of all I love your name. It’s so pretty and unique! Second, I have a question for you. With graduation coming up this fall, can you share any advice on which courses you would recommend taking together (for those of us considering doing two at once) or making sure you take by themselves?

    Thanks!
    Dana

  3. astefanick Says:

    Dana,

    Thanks for the response! I have really grown to love my name but had a hard time with it when I was younger. I always wanted a common name like my friends but now I know how great it can be to be unique!

    I have really enjoyed all of my classes and it has been okay taking two at a time the past 6 weeks. I had to cut down on some hours at work to make sure I spent a good amount of time on my school work but it is doable at 40 hours a week of work.

    The one class I enjoyed a lot was my Public Relations class because I had never had one before. I found that it is a field I would love to go into and at this late in my education I never thought I would find a new field that I love so much. It has helped steer me in that direction and I will be taking an more complex PR class in the fall.

    Any other questions feel free to ask me or contact me on my many social networking sites!

    https://www.facebook.com/ainsley.brook
    http://twitter.com/AinsleyStefan
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/ainsleybrook

    abrook@mix.wvu.edu

    Thanks again for the response!

    Ainsley

Leave a Reply

