I’m baaaack! (barely)

by

Greetings, IMC friends! 🙂

So what, you ask, have I been doing during my extended absence from blogging? When you finally enroll in IMC 636 – Campaigns, you will find that rather than having to submit weekly assignments through eCampus you will instead have to snail-mail two assignments—a midterm and a final. Now, that’s not to say that there aren’t weekly assignments. On the contrary, there are weekly assignments and they are big ones. All the weekly assignments from the first half of the class make up your midterm, and the weekly assignments (combined with the midterm assignments) make up your final project.

During Week 1 of IMC 636, my professor warned us that even though we didn’t have to actually submit weekly assignments, it was very important to stay on schedule with the assignments and not fall behind (you can probably guess where I’m going with this). Well, after reading the 636 syllabus, I was excited about the prospect of not having to actually submit an assignment for Week 1—especially coming off of two classes in Early Spring. So, I gave myself that first weekend off. I figured that since I was used to doing two assignments in one weekend I would just do my Week 1 and Week 2 assignments that following weekend and be all caught up.

That first weekend was a blast. It was wonderful, relaxing—everything I hoped it would be. Then Weekend 2 came along—the weekend where I had to do two assignments to get caught up.

That didn’t happen.

Instead, I spent the weekend taking care of a very sick little girl with a nasty stomach virus (I will spare you the details). Long story short, I spent Weeks 3 and 4 scrambling to get my first two assignments done as well as the other two assignments that made up my midterm.

Campaigns is a fun class. It’s challenging, but it gives you the chance to apply everything you’ve learned in the program. But instead of really being able to enjoy the experience, I spent a large part of the first half of the class playing catch-up. To all of you current IMC students who will be taking Campaigns at some point in the future, please don’t do what I did. Listen to your professors, follow the syllabus and do the assignments in the weeks you are supposed to do them. You will be thankful that you did! 😉

5 Responses to “I’m baaaack! (barely)”

  1. Joelle Ennis Says:

    I will be taking 636 in Late Fall. What is your company/project?

    • stacywise Says:

      Hi Joelle!

      Our client is still the American Red Cross. I think they have a new client also in the works but I’m not sure if that will happen by Late Fall. Good luck this summer and fall! 😀

  2. CaseyCid Says:

    Good advice on not procrastinating! I am in campaigns, too and it is no walk in the park! Don’t get me wrong, this has been my favorite course so far, but it’s also the hardest. Staying ahead is definitely the key to success!

  3. Kim Conrad Says:

    I will repeat what Stacy and Casey both said . . . DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!! I did the same thing Stacy did and it was tought getting caught up. It is an awesome final project to use everything you’ve learned in the first 12 classes, and it really gives the IMC student a lot of real-world experience. Also, I highly recommend that students ‘friend’ their classmates so you can support each other via social media. Best of luck to all the future IMC 636 Campaigns students. Have fun and stay on schedule, and you will do just fine!!

  4. Where Have I Been? « WVU IMC Student Blog Says:

    […] final of my life staring down at me. I remembered that my predecessor on the IMC blog, Stacy Wise, posted around the same point in her Campaigns experience (after a similarly long absence), so I decided to re-read her post and […]

Leave a Reply

