IMC textbooks on my iPad? Sign me up!

by

Happy New Year, IMC pals! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season. 🙂

While I was shopping at the WVU Bookstore the other day I decided to look for the textbooks for my Early Spring courses, IMC 624 – Cause Marketing and IMC 629 – Mobile Marketing. I usually buy my textbooks online, but I figured that since I was at the bookstore I might as well look. The bookstore had the book I needed for Cause Marketing in stock but not the one I needed for Mobile Marketing. I went ahead and bought the Cause Marketing book. 

Later that day, I searched on Amazon for the Mobile Marketing textbook. When the results popped up I was surprised/happy to find that not only does the Mobile Marketing book I need come in paper format, it comes in Kindle format!  E-textbooks? Why not? 😀

So, just out of curiosity, I searched for the Cause Marketing book. I paid $60 for that book at the bookstore; the same book is $30—half the price—in Kindle format. Needless to say, I will be making a trip back to the bookstore to return the “tree book.”

Now, I know what some of you are thinking. You are squeamish about giving up your beloved tree textbooks for the e-versions. I get it, and I even admit that it is a little different reading textbooks on an iPad. I had some experience with it when I took IMC 612 – Audience Insight a few semesters ago and critiqued a book for that class that only came in Kindle format. It was an adjustment, but one that I quickly got used to. No, you can’t write notes in an e-book. But you highlighter-happy freaks (you know who you are) still have the ability to highlight text with e-books, so all is not lost!

E-textbooks probably aren’t for everyone, but if you love reading books electronically then e-textbooks might be something to consider.

5 Responses to “IMC textbooks on my iPad? Sign me up!”

  1. Flavia Hulsey Says:

    Stacy – Looks like we will have class together again! I am signed up for 624 and 693I in early spring! I also noticed when looking for books the Kindle/iPad options. As an iPad user, I’ve already downloaded one of them. Happy e-reading!

  2. stacywise Says:

    Yay! Great minds think alike 😉

    I’m so excited about e-textbooks … We will be reading about mobile marketing on a mobile device!

  3. Joanne Says:

    Hi Stacy:
    I’ve also used a pdf reader on my iPad to read the weekly class readings. Easier on the eyes and saves paper too!

  4. Mike Says:

    Hey Stacy-

    Great topic! I also convert my weekly lessons to PDF and read them on my Kindle. Also, for IMC 615, I bought Hey, Whipple, Squeeze This: A Guide to Creating Great Advertising for the Kindle. If it’s available, I’ll always get them on the Kindle. Less to carry around! Hope all is well.

    -Mike S

Leave a Reply

