Holiday Study Strategy

by

Hello IMC Friends!

Is it just me, or have these last few weeks gone by at warp speed? I think it must be the hectic holiday season and not having enough hours in the day to get everything done!

It’s beginning to get a little quieter here in Morgantown, as WVU students are completing their finals this week and leaving campus for the winter break. Unfortunately, the nature of our online program means that we still have one more week to go. I will be the first to admit that I was pretty bummed after realizing that our classes would be in session over Christmas. But when you sit back and put it into perspective, it’s not so bad. Our classes are 9 weeks long, which means we are able to cover twice the amount of coursework as students enrolled in a program that follows a traditional semester. And, we have the convenience of being online.

Fortunately, I don’t have an assignment due for Week 8, so I’m planning on using the extra time I have this weekend to get a head start on my final project. And hopefully that will afford me some extra time on Christmas to spend with family and friends. What about you guys? Do you have a special strategy in place for managing your coursework and the upcoming holiday? Any IMC grads out there who want to give us some tips?

3 Responses to “Holiday Study Strategy”

  1. Michelle Says:

    For some reason my class did NOT have an assignment due in week 7 but does in week 8! I’m stressing with how and when I’m going to find the time between end of the year duties at work, traveling 3 hours away for christmas eve and coming home in time on christmas day to host dinner for 40 people! Here goes nothing…

    • stacywise Says:

      Hi Michelle,

      I feel your pain. My classes have all followed different assignment schedules. It just so happened that I got lucky with this class and an assignment-free Week 8. But I’m a bit of a procrastinator, so I’m sure that even with this “bonus week” I’ll still be putting the finishing touches on my final project into next weekend. 🙂

      Happy holidays, and good luck with your class and your big dinner! I couldn’t even imagine hosting 40 people!

      Stacy

  2. Nicola Says:

    Hi Stacy and Michelle:

    Sorry to hear that you’re stressing Michelle I know that way.

    I must confess though that I also didn’t have an assignment to submit in week 8. I have to say that IMC 625 for has been brilliantly scheduled, providing enough non assignment weekends to prepare and do research for upcoming assignments.

    This is one of the courses where course work is semester long and requires tweaking/adjusting based on instructor’s comments.

    In terms of special strategy Stacey, can’t say because this course has allowed for enough research time which I must say was greatly appreciated and needed considering the subject area.

    I think IMC should make it a rule that week 8 is always a non-assignment week. Thereby giving students enough prep time to either merge, redo or conduct research necessary for final project.

    To all readers, compliments of the Season!

Leave a Reply

