Snowy End to the Semester

by

Greetings, IMC friends! I’m writing you today from a very cold and snowy Morgantown. I hope you are staying warm in your neck of the woods—wherever that may be! (If your neck of the woods is Florida or somewhere else warm can I come visit you? 🙂 )

A snowy Martin Hall, WVU Downtown Campus 12/8/10

 

Hailey is NOT a fan of mittens because she can't suck her thumb. 🙂

My husband left yesterday for a business trip to Ottawa, Canada, so I guess I just need to put the chilliness into perspective. 😉

In case you haven’t realized (but I’m sure you have), we are now two-thirds of the way through the Late Fall semester. Woohoo! Despite having only one class, I can honestly say that this has been the most difficult and challenging semester for me thus far. Needless to say, I am looking forward to a little relaxation over our holiday break to recharge a little before Early Spring arrives.

Speaking of holidays, my family started a new tradition this year with our very own “Elf on the Shelf.” Have you all heard about this? If not, I will give you the Cliff’s Notes version. The Elf on the Shelf” is a children’s book that comes with a little elf figurine. According to the story, the elf watches children to see if they are behaving “naughty” or “nice” and reports back to Santa each night. And every morning, children must locate their elf—as he shows up in a different place in the house each day.

We talk a lot about social media in my IMC 619 – Brand Equity Management class, and one of the things we’ve discussed is the viral nature of social media channels like Facebook . The Elf on the Shelf is one example of this. I’d seen a lot of chatter from my Facebook friends (many of whom have small children) talking about their “elves.” I had no clue what they were talking about at first, but then a friend of mine sent me a Facebook message about the Elf on the Shelf with a link to the website. We’ve been doing the elf thing for about a week now at my house and I have to admit that it’s pretty fun. Elf on the Shelf has its own official fan page on Facebook, where fans can share stories and post pictures of the funny, creative places the elves “appear.”

Do any of you have an Elf on the Shelf? What is your favorite family holiday tradition?

One Response to “Snowy End to the Semester”

  1. Meredith Says:

    I have had one of my moms that has been hanging on my closet door for years and never knew his story! Thanks for this, he creeps me out a little less now.

Leave a Reply

