The Emerging Social Network

by

Hi IMC Land! Cheers to the home stretch of Early Fall! In between homework assignments and discussion posts I had a chance to go see The Social Network this weekend, the movie about the creation of Facebook.

No spoilers—I promise! I will just say that I really enjoyed the movie, and it’s crazy to think how an idea like Facebook can take off and transform the way we communicate forever. One line from the movie that stuck out in my mind was, “It will never be finished,”—Mark Zuckerberg’s answer for when his project (Facebook) would be completed. I think that’s an important point for us IMC professionals to consider as different media continue to emerge and evolve around us. We will be the ones who will be tasked with staying on top of new trends to ensure that our messages reach their intended targets. An e-book I reviewed for my IMC 612 Audience Insight class, The Connected Consumer: How Mobile Technology Affects Consumer Behavior, discusses some of these new trends, and even jumps 10 years into the future to give readers a glimpse of what the future of communication and technology might hold.

What do you guys envision for the field of IMC 10 years from now? Do you think print media like magazines and newspapers will still be relevant? (We actually had this discussion in my IMC 615 Creative Strategy class this week). I’m interested to hear your thoughts! Also, if/when you see The Social Network, let us know what you think!

2 Responses to “The Emerging Social Network”

  1. stacywise Says:

    A friend of mine shared this link on Facebook. Given the topic of this blog, I thought I’d share it with you guys. Pretty funny, and so true!

    http://www.kdvr.com/news/sns-your-25-facebook-friends-pg,0,3052780.photogallery

  2. Lori Says:

    Saw Social Network, really enjoyed it.

    I think it’s amazing how something that innovative, when it gets to market first, with such a strong package, can really create a craze.

Leave a Reply

