IMC Groupies

by

Hi IMC Friends!

We are officially halfway through the Early Fall semester—woohoo! I hope you all are enjoying your classes.  I only have one assignment due on Monday, so I’m planning to use the extra time this weekend to spend time with family and friends on the lake.  Boat season is almost over here in Morgantown 😦

I had the opportunity to participate in an IMC focus group earlier this week, and one of the things we discussed was the possibility of forming an IMC student organization. Several IMC students have expressed an interest in having more networking and professional development opportunities.  I’d like to use this blog to get some feedback from you current and prospective students. Would an IMC student organization be something you’d be interested in?

Also, IMC graduates—one of the things we discussed in the focus group was the possibility of including a mentorship program within the student organization, where a few IMC graduates would be available to answer questions from current students. What are your thoughts?

Any feedback you guys have regarding the proposed student organization would be greatly appreciated! Just reply to this blog with any comments or suggestions you may have.

Have a great weekend everyone!

4 Responses to “IMC Groupies”

  1. Julie Davis Says:

    I think an IMC mentoring program would be really neat. When I was working on my thesis, Heidi Martella was incredible in lending an ear to listen to my ideas and guide me in the right direction. I’d love to be that for someone else 🙂

    If anyone reading is working on their final, I’m on Facebook (Julie Davis) and would love to help out!

    A student organization would be neat. I’m not sure how we’d go about that, but I’m around to help build it.

  2. Rebecca Downor Says:

    I am a prospective student for the IMC program (crossing my fingers for Spring 2011!) and I think that a student organization program would be such a useful tool- especially to those who don’t have a marketing background (like moi) who are gaining experience in the job field.

    In undergrad, I was an art & graphic design major. In hindsight, I wish that I had had more direction when it came to utilizing my skills within the ‘real world’. If I had taken a few marketing classes within college, I feel as though I would have been more prepared.

    I can only see good things in having an organization where current IMCers and veterans could help us newbies 🙂

    • stacywise Says:

      Hi Rebecca,

      Great to have a prospective student reading the blog! In almost all of my classes so far I have had classmates with backgrounds similar to yours who have echoed your comments about wanting to learn more about the marketing/business side of IMC. On the other hand, I’ve also had classmates who have said that they wish that they could have learned more about the creative side during undergrad. The great thing about the IMC program is that it gives you the opportunity to learn about every piece and how they fit together.

      The response to the proposed mentorship program has been overwhelmingly positive, so hopefully that will be something that will be implemented soon!

      Best of luck to you for Spring 2011, and keep in touch! 🙂

  3. Bill Says:

    I am also a prospective student and think a mentor program would be beneficial to all new students. I would appreciate any feedback or advice being that I graduated undergrad 10 years ago- but am very intrigued with the IMC concept.

Leave a Reply

