IMC courses—a glass-half-full approach

by

Last week, a girlfriend of mine posted a little “Ode to Moms” on her Facebook status. I thought I would share it with you first and then explain why:

  •  At the age of 4: Mom knows everything!
  • At 8: Mom knows a lot…
  • At 12: Mom doesn’t really know everything…
  • At 14: Mom doesn’t know anything!
  • At 16: Mom doesn’t exist.
  • At 18: She’s old fashioned.
  • At 25: Maybe Mom does know about this!
  • At 35: Before we decide, let’s ask Mom…
  • At 45: I wonder what Mom thinks about this?
  • At 75: I wish I could ask my Mom about this…

I was chatting with a friend of mine, Nicole, who just started the IMC program this Fall. Feeling a little intimidated and overwhelmed, as we can all relate, Nicole asked me for some tips for success. One of the most helpful tips I’ve gotten actually came from my own Mom. It’s served me well not only in the IMC program but in school in general. At the risk of sounding like Forest Gump (“Mama always said…”) here is what she told me:  

“You start every class with an A+. You’re not earning your grade—you’re maintaining your grade. Whether you keep an A+ in your class is entirely up to you.”

Think about it. When you read your new class syllabus each semester, it’s a little overwhelming to think, “Geez, I have to earn 415 (or whatever) points to get an A+ in the class.” It’s much better to think, “Hey, I have 415 points and an A+ in this class! Now I just have to prove how awesome I am!”

In my own warped little head, I took Mom’s advice a step further to create “Stacy’s IMC Game.” Here’s how it goes: Each week is like a level in a video game—so 9 levels in total. You are allotted so many points each week. Your goal is to not screw up your assignments and discussions to keep as many points as you can. The more points you can keep by the end of your 9th level, the better your grade will be!  That’s way more fun than reading a grading rubric, huh? 😉

Thanks for the advice, Mom! ❤

3 Responses to “IMC courses—a glass-half-full approach”

  1. wadadlilady Says:

    Hi Stacey:

    It’s interesting about the age 4 comment, my son only thinks I know everything as long as it doesn’t conflict with what his teacher has told him.

    I like the start every class with an A+ approach, I’m going to need that more than usual this semester. This week will be tough. I live in the Leeward Islands in the Caribbean and we have tropical storms back to back to back to back it looks like. One just past earlier today and we’re apparently getting Fiona late tomorrow or early Wednesday and potentially Gaston depending on how that system develops. This will affect my electricity and naturally my Internet access.

    Added to this, taking IMC 620, as a class we’re realizing there’re some CD-ROM installation issues so right now for me a glass half-full approach is a tad difficult. But I am trying my best. I at least have both power and Internet now, so trying to make the best of it for as long as it lasts this week.

    Best of luck this semester!

    • stacywise Says:

      Oh my goodness, you poor thing! I have a friend who lives in Puerto Rico and I think she had to evacuate for Earl. Everything is fine, though, according to Facebook 😉

      Stay safe this semester and take care!

  2. Heidi Says:

    As an IMC student, I was always looking for case studies. Recently, I discovered the Kohl’s Cares for Kids cause marketing campaign where the 20 schools with the most votes are eligible for a $500,000 grant. A little school with 75 students in Bozeman, Montana, came out of no where to reach as high as #13.

    School leaders decided about a month ago to devote three days to promoting this cause and to “see what would happen.” Today, Mount Ellis Academy has nearly 80,000 votes thanks to social media, student-produced youtube clips, radio interviews, media relations–all to get a grant to replace their aging sewer and water system.

    Mount Ellis Academy is sitting just outside the Top 20. Check out the following link, cast 5 of your 20 votes for Mount Ellis Academy, and let me know if you’d like more information about the school’s integrated social media campaign.

    http://bit.ly/dxwyGg

Leave a Reply

