It’s about that time again…

by

Hello, IMC friends!  I’m trying to make the most of our last few days off, but the not-so-subtle reminders of buying textbooks and paying tuition sort of brings me back to the reality that our summer fun is coming to an end. Time to stop wasting away in Margaritaville and get back to business … *sigh*

Mark and I became official Parrotheads last week @ Jimmy Buffet in Pittsburgh

By the end of last semester I felt like I had a pretty good schedule worked out for myself, even with two classes. But the Early and Late Fall semesters bring something entirely new to the mix—something that must be factored in. I’m talking about football season. What to do, what to do about football season?

If I watch the Mountaineers on Saturdays (mostly) and the Steelers on Sundays (mostly), when am I going to get my homework done? I can hear my Mom in the back of my head saying, “Prioritize, prioritize! Budget your time!”  That’s easy for her to say. She’s not the one with two homework assignments and 10 discussion posts due each week. So, you IMC veterans who are also football freaks like me: How do you successfully budget your time to include football? Tips and advice are welcome … 🙂

3 Responses to “It’s about that time again…”

  1. wadadlilady Says:

    Hi Stacey:

    I’m looking forward to the beginning of Fall for another reason, this Fall means my LAST two courses before my capstone course, I’m anxious, excited and sad all at the same time.

    I want to be finished, but after almost 2 years of this program what I am going to do with myself when I don’t have to respond to posts and assignments to finish. This program has been such a part of my life for so long and has brought so much to my life that I really sad at times when I realise I’m going to miss it all.

    But, on the other hand it will close another important chapter in my life and make the path clear for the opening of another so I guess it’s a bittersweet time for me.

  2. stacywise Says:

    Oh, congrats!!! So are you taking two in Early Fall and then 636 in Late Fall? How exciting! If all goes as planned I will HOPEFULLY be taking 636 in Late Spring (crossing my fingers). I completely get what you’re saying about being in school. When I left my old job to stay at home with Hailey, it was a really hard decsion for me because jobs around here aren’t the easiest to find in our field. I have no regrets about staying home with her, but I’ll be honest — it’s been hard watching all of my friends and former co-workers move on with their careers while I’ve been at home watching Nikelodeon. Being in this program has made me feel good about myself–like I’m actually accomplishing something! It will be sad when that feeling goes away, but hopefully when I’m done I’ll be able to find a job that will be equally rewarding! 🙂

    Good luck to you this semester and keep us posted!

  3. wadadlilady Says:

    Actually Stacey, due to my workload I can only take one course at a time so it’s IMC 620 early Fall, IMC 625 Late Fall and then Early Spring all being well capstone.

    OMG! When I started capstone seemed so far away, now it’s pratically around the corner.

    Truthfully, if all goes well with me I’m hoping completing this program will be my springboard for doing my own thing in terms of consultancy. I loved being home with my son for 5 months when he was born.

    Time with children is priceless and nothing can replace it, lucky you. All the best this semester.

Leave a Reply

