Hi. My name is Stacy, and I’m a Foursquareaholic

by

Hello IMC friends! I hope you’re enjoying your extra free time over the summer break. My family and I just got back from the beach a few days ago, and after a week of contemplating, I’ve come to the conclusion that I have a Foursquare addiction.  

For those of you who are unfamiliar with it, Foursquare is a location-based social network where members “check-in” to different locations to earn rewards and badges. You have probably seen people post check-ins to different places on Facebook using the Foursquare app. There are a few other similar networks out there (Gowalla, Loopt, etc.), but my friends and I all use Foursquare—mostly because of its gaming component. For example, after so many check-ins at one location you can earn a badge or even become the “Mayor” of that location. When someone checks in more times than you, he or she will oust you as the Mayor of that location. After you become the Mayor of so many locations you earn the “Super Mayor” badge … and so on, and so on.

I’ll be the first to admit that there are a few problems with Foursquare. The biggest problem that I’ve personally noticed is that Foursquare is creating a “Farmville effect” with my non-Foursquare friends on Facebook. My friends who don’t Foursquare are getting really annoyed with me for oversharing my whereabouts, similar to me oversharing news about my Farmville farm (which I recently gave up).  And in the past few days what I’ve realized is that I am indeed a Foursquareaholic. Why?  Because I honestly don’t care that I’m annoying my friends. These days, the only thing I’m concerned with is becoming the mayor of a new venue or earning a new badge …

My friend KCB and I are Super Mayors

Why am I telling you all of this? Because I’ve noticed that just in the short time that I’ve been Foursquaring that businesses are really starting to catch on to and benefit from this budding social network. It’s a great way to advertise—or even better—allow patrons to advertise your business through WOM. Now, not only are people checking in to different locations, they are leaving tips for others about what to do while there. When I was at the beach, I checked into several places that I hadn’t previously been to, and I got some useful tips on favorite foods, discounts, specials, best times to come, etc. As future IMC professionals, it’s going to be our job to stay on top of technology like this, and hopefully have a lot of fun while doing it!

On a totally unrelated side note, a friend of mine shared this link on Facebook this morning about free Amazon Prime for college students.  Amazon Prime members receive free 2-day shipping on all orders from Amazon:

 http://www.amazon.com/gp/student/signup/info

I thought you might be interested in joining to save some money on shipping when you order textbooks. I already signed up using my MIX e-mail.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

8 Responses to “Hi. My name is Stacy, and I’m a Foursquareaholic”

  1. AJ Gardeaux Says:

    Hey, Stacy! I understand your addiction even though I haven’t caught it yet! I think it’s because not many of my friends use Foursquare so it seems like I’m participating in something they don’t know or understand. I saw a similar app called Get Glue where one “checks in” while doing things like reading, watching TV and movies, etc.

    Are you ever concerned about privacy while using Foursquare? I have my FB settings so that only friends can see my and info but I don’t trust that entirely.

    AJ

  2. Chris Gump Says:

    You and KCB are the ones who got me hooked on Foursquare…so thanks for that btw…but it is very common with high schoolers around Morgantown. American Eagle offers 20% off when you check in there, which is nice for the young crowd who can wear those clothes. It is catching on with retailers and restaurants. Nice blog Stacy!

  3. KCB Says:

    If Foursquare is wrong, I don’t want to be right!

  4. Kevin Says:

    Love Foursquare too. The tips are great. Used the tips while visiting Charleston, WV to find a great fish sandwich at the market. It will be amazing to see how business harness the power of Foursquare to market themselves.

  5. AJ Gardeaux Says:

    I decided to give Foursquare a try on a trip to Philadelphia this weekend. They encouraged the use of it (along with Twitter and Facebook among others) at the Cleopatra exhibit at The Franklin Institute. And I found a number of business offering deals to those who checked in at their establishments including Whole Foods. It was helpful regarding restaurants to avoid and what to order at Morimoto. And I was grateful when it found a Saxby’s for my much needed cup of coffee on Sunday morning!

    • stacywise Says:

      Hi AJ! I didn’t really know what I was doing when I started using Foursquare, either, and it really didn’t get fun until my friends started using it. As far as privacy, I’m not too worried about it. In fact, had to go into my Foursquare settings to allow the application to post my check-ins to Facebook. If someone wanted to use the app but not have their check-ins broadcast on Facebook, they could just turn that option off. I’m glad you had fun with it on your trip! 🙂

  6. AJ Gardeaux Says:

    Looks like Facebook is going to get into the act from CNN:

    The long-rumored geolocation “check-in” feature at Facebook is slated to debut within weeks, multiple sources familiar with the matter told CNET.

    More:

    http://www.cnn.com/2010/TECH/social.media/08/11/facebook.foursquare.cnet/index.html?eref=mrss_igoogle_cnn

    • stacywise Says:

      So I installed Facebook Places on my phone tonight and tried it out. I have to say that so far I’m liking Foursquare better! But, it might just be that FB Places will take some getting used to. I wish they would just merge the two! Have you tried it out yet?

Leave a Reply

