To update or not to update …

by

So this week, after much debate, I decided to update my iPhone with the new OS 4 software. Now, when I say, “I decided to update” what I really mean is that Mark wore me down enough to where he was able to confiscate my phone and do it for me. See, I have a bad history with updates. I’m a creature of habit, and I tend to abide by the old adage, “If it ain’t broke, don’t try to fix it.” After the last iPhone software update a while back, my phone went haywire and locked up on me several times. It got so bad that eventually I had to (Mark had to) restore it from scratch. Since that time, everything has been going great and I have been able to continue my love affair with my phone without incident.

So, now that you know the history, you can appreciate my hesitation when Mark said to me, “Let’s update your iPhone software.”  He went on to show me all the neat new OS 4 features on his own phone, tempting me even more. Admittedly, I didn’t put up much of a fight when he took my phone from me.

How did it all work out? Well, after the software update was done, I started putting all my apps into neat little folders, which is pretty cool. I guess. But, a few days ago, my iPhone mailbox started acting up. I have gmail, and I’m not sure if this is an iPhone thing or a Google thing, but for whatever reason I kept getting locked out of my mailbox.  After searching online, I figured out how to fix the problem (which unfortunately is a recurring problem). But, it just seems strange to me that I didn’t have this issue before the software update and now I do. The other problem? My battery. My iPhone battery has seen better days, and I think that this OS 4 software is just asking too much from my poor old battery.

Now, I don’t mean to be a Debbie Downer. This cloud has a silver lining. After some discussion about the new software update, my shabby old battery, and my current iPhone (it’s an iPhone 3G—practically a fossil now) we’ve decided that it might be time for an upgrade. Hehehehe.  See, if Mark had really thought about it, he would’ve kept his mouth shut and let me be happy with my old phone and old software.  😉

So here is my question to you, IMC folks, some of whom I know are iPhone junkies like myself. Do any of you have the new iPhone 4? If so, how do you like it? Any problems? I’ve been reading about how some people have had reception issues with it.

2 Responses to “To update or not to update …”

  1. Kevin Says:

    I’ve heard about the reception issues as well and I hear they are working on a fix. I too have the 3G model and to me the iOS4 update only added a few new features. Since it is a 3G I can’t multi-task or use some of the other features.

    I only have about four screens worth of apps and all the ones I frequently use are on the home screen so I haven’t really seen any benefit personally for using the folders.

    While I’m intrigued by the new bells-and-whistles that come with the iPhone 4 I don’t video conference with enough people to make it worth it. The idea of being able to shoot video is nice but I love my Flip camera. If/when I decide to upgrade I’ll just move to the 3GS.

  2. stacywise Says:

    Well, I haven’t ruled out a 3GS, either. That’s what Mark has right now and it runs the new software a lot better than my old dinosaur. 🙂 My reception is sketchy sometimes anyway (especially in Fairmont and Grafton–you know how it is), so it just wouldn’t make sense for me to buy a phone that already has poor reception …ugh. Have you had any problems with your mailbox since your software update?

Leave a Reply

