Is it Google or Bing? I can’t tell!

by

OK, I have to admit that when I logged on to my computer this morning I thought my husband played a practical joke on me. I have Google set up as my homepage, so when I opened my browser this morning imagine my surprise when I was greeted with an outdoor scene that looked very “Bingish.”  

Google screenshot from my computer this morning

Now, I’m a creature of habit. For example, anytime Facebook makes changes to its layout I freak out, and I’m usually grouchy for a few days until I figure everything out. Needless to say, I’m not really digging the new Google homepage yet. I miss the simplicity of the old version. And, if Google stops doing those fun things with its logo on the homepage (the recent PacMan game was awesome!) I will be really sad.

After I read the Google blog, I can sort of see where they are heading with this change, and I do appreciate the customization aspect of it. I’m betting that Google’s homepage customization has been in the works for a long time. However, I think I would be more accepting of it if Google had introduced it before Microsoft launched Bing. Timing is everything, and I hate to say it, but this new homepage looks very “copycat” to me – very uncharacteristic of Google and pretty disappointing. I will probably end up loving it eventually, after I recover from the initial shock. 🙂

I’m sure there are a few IMC discussions going on about this right now, so those of you who are taking classes this summer, please indulge me! I’d love to hear what everyone else is saying about it. Love it? Hate it? Don’t care? Let me know!

In other news, how many of you are super excited about the new iPhone software? Farmville on my iPhone!  Beginning around the end of the month or maybe the first of July, I will probably be going from 10% productivity to 0% productivity in real life. But my virtual farm will be at 100% productivity. And how about the new iPhone! I want, I want! 🙂

One Response to “Is it Google or Bing? I can’t tell!”

  1. Autumn Says:

    You and Mark are soooo perfect together 🙂 Nerds!

Leave a Reply

