Stacy + 2-year-old + 2 final projects – 1 husband = CRAZY

by

Hi everyone!

Week 9!  Time to dust off my flippy-floppies!

After I turn in my final projects on Monday I’m going to sleep for a week. Then I’ll probably try to corral the dust bunnies that have grown into tumbleweeds in my poor neglected house.

Having two classes this semester was crazy–I get ill just thinking about doing it again in Early Fall. And to add to the craziness, my husband Mark has been out of town for work this entire week. All I can say is thank goodness for grandparents. My parents and my in-laws have been so supportive of me this semester. My daughter has spent as much time with them as she has with me (maybe more)! One piece of advice that I have for all you new and prospective students is to make sure you have a good support team in place when you start classes—and plenty of backup! When the IMC professors say, “plan to budget 12-15 hours per week per course,” they aren’t kidding!

How many of you are taking summer courses? Even though I won’t be taking classes this summer I’ll still be blogging, so keep reading! Lastly, congrats to all of you May 2010 IMC graduates. If you have any parting words of advice, we’d all love to hear them!

Good luck with finals, everyone, and have fun with your summer classes–those of you who aren’t slackers like me. 🙂

3 Responses to “Stacy + 2-year-old + 2 final projects – 1 husband = CRAZY”

  1. Carrie Baker Says:

    Great post. I’m looking forward to the summer as well. However, I have signed up for a summer class with WVU IMC (Creative Strategy & Execution). Thought about taking two class this summer, but Michigan’s summer is so short, I am glad I didn’t. How do you find the time for class work between being married and having a 2 year old? That is craziness!

  2. stacywise Says:

    Hi Carrie,

    It is crazy! But it’s probably not any crazier than trying to do it with a full-time job. I often wonder how those people do it. I guess everyone figures out what works for them. I’m scheduled to take Creative Strategy in Early Fall, so you’ll have to let me know how that goes! I totally agree about summertime. Our boat season runs from early to mid-May to early September, so we have to get our money’s worth while we can! What part of Michigan are you in?

  3. wadadlilady Says:

    Hi Stacey:

    I truly commend you for taking 2 courses at once, I definitely couldn’t do it.

    I’m taking IMC 614 Media Analysis, this summer. I think this is the first class where I see homework assignments for EVERY week. I mean EVERY week. Maybe it’s happened before, but it’s been so long…EVERY week, did I mention that, in the summer! LOL!

    No worries, this hopefully will be my FINAL summer, so I’ll plod through.

    Will be looking forward to reading your postings throughout the upcoming weeks.

Leave a Reply

