My Weekend Plans

by

It’s that glorious time of the year again—Finals Week—when students begin to leave town and traffic around here becomes tolerable. Don’t get me wrong, the students are great. Most businesses around here would go under without the support of WVU students. But, it sure is nice to be able to drive from Point A to Point B without yelling and banging your fists on the steering wheel.

In addition to the students’ departure, this weekend marks another rite of passage into summer—boat season! With weather permitting, the Happy Daze will be back at her summer home this weekend. So, if you want to get in touch with me this summer, here’s where you can find me:

So speaking of weekends, how many of you will be attending IMC Weekend? From what I’ve heard, I think there’s going to be a great showing of both faculty and students. I’m looking forward to meeting some of my classmates face to face, even though I feel like I already know them. All three of my professors from Early and Late Spring semesters are planning to attend, and at least one of my professors for the upcoming Fall semesters will be there.

Over the course of these last two semesters, I’ve been trying to give prospective IMC students a glimpse of what it’s like to be in the program. Hopefully, I’ve been able to do that. However, my experience is uniquely my own. Every student is different. We’ve had different classes with different professors. I’d strongly encourage anyone interested in the program to come to IMC Weekend and talk not only with me, but with the faculty and other students to get different perspectives on the program. I can tell you what the program is like as a stay-at-home Mom. But, maybe you’re a recent graduate, or maybe you’re employed full-time. Chances are there will be a current student or graduate at IMC weekend who would love to share their own experiences with you.

If you haven’t RSVP’d to IMC Weekend yet, there’s still time! And, I will let you in on a little secret. Not only will you get to celebrate the awesomeness of the IMC program during IMC Weekend, you will also have the opportunity to celebrate the birth of me! That’s right, my birthday just happens to be during IMC Weekend, so those of you who attend will have the honor of celebrating with me! I can’t believe I’m going to be 29 … again!  I’ve been 29 for a few years now, and I have to say that it’s a great age to be. I also have it on good authority that a certain IMC advisor’s birthday is also during IMC Weekend, so when you see Professor Shelly Stump wish her a Happy Birthday 🙂

One Response to “My Weekend Plans”

  1. Shelly Stump Says:

    Thanks Stacy! It is an honor to share a birthday with you! And seeing all of our wonderful faculty members and students will be a great way for us to both celebrate being 29…again!

Leave a Reply

