A Love Affair

by

I think everyone who has had class with me is aware of my love affair … with my iPhone. Well, I want to formally come clean, and announce to all of you that I have cheated. I have strayed. I have moved on to bigger and better things. I’m talking about the iPad.

I will be the first to admit, I was very skeptical of the iPad. When we discussed new product launches a few months ago in my IMC 610 class, the iPad came up. Most people agreed that Apple didn’t really do a great job of explaining what the heck an iPad is and, more importantly, what you’d need one for. Even my husband Mark, who is a computer geek, couldn’t really convince me why we would ever need one.

Clearly, that didn’t stop him from bringing an iPad home one day last week – out of the blue. I think he intended the iPad to be for him, but as the old saying goes, “what’s mine is mine and what’s his is mine,” so I felt compelled to go ahead and check it out.

In many ways, it really is a giant iPhone, minus the phone part. At this point I was still skeptical because after Mark’s “iPad demo” I still couldn’t figure out what the point of it was. Check e-mail? I do that on my phone or my laptop. Watch a movie? Um, thanks, but I have a TV. Then, Mark suggested that I download a book from iBooks and to try out iPad’s e-reader. Now, a little disclaimer: I’m a freak about my books. Call me old-school, but I like books with actual pages in them that I can flip through. I like to go to the bookstore and creep through the paranormal romance section (yes, I like vampire books). My bookcases at home are carefully organized, with each series in its correct order. It has to be this way because I like to go back and re-read them. I realize this is probably a little OCD. I don’t care.

I had my doubts about iBooks. But, my friend Chris, who is “technologically proficient” (translate computer geek) recently explained it to me like this. She said, “There is snail mail and there is e-mail. There are tree-books and there are e-books.” My other friend, Elise, recently bought a Kindle and is completely in love. Elise and I are on the same page with our OCD book habits, so I figured if she could make the switch to an e-reader, I had to at least give it a shot with the iPad.

After three nights of cozying up with my first iBook, (First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost) I am convinced that I will probably never buy another tree-book (except to complete my Sookie Stackhouse series, of course). My iPad has replaced my iPhone on my nightstand (oh, who am I kidding — it’s on my pillow), and I’m never looking back.  If Mark is nice, I might let him borrow it once in a while 😉

3 Responses to “A Love Affair”

  1. Mike Selvaggio Says:

    Hey Stacy,

    Love the post! The only thing I can think of when people talk about the ebook on the iPad is my nieces and nephews eventually carrying around an iPad like device rather than textbooks. Of course Apple will have to come to some type of agreement with the textbook companies first, but could you imagine kids not having to wear that huge book bag with 4-5 textbooks in it. How freakin cool! Must be nice to be a kid in the 21st century…

    -Mike

  2. Kevin Says:

    I agree with Mike. I have a feeling by soon to be Freshman son will be carrying some kind of eReader before he graduates high school. My friend has a Kindle, which is pretty cool. I’ve got the Kindle apps on my phone and MacBook but I think the Kindle or even the iPad would be a bit easier to handle. I’d like to get my hands on an iPad myself.

  3. stacywise Says:

    Hahahaha! Yeah, I used to make fun of my parents for telling me those “I had to walk 100 miles in a blizzard to get to school” stories, but I have a feeling that Hailey will be laughing at me one day when I tell her that “I used to have to carry a big backpack with a huge stack of books in it when I was your age” …. as she hops on the school bus with her iPad loaded with textbooks.

Leave a Reply

