Nike and Tiger

by

Happy Friday everyone!

I know that I’ve complained a lot about the workload of taking two classes at once this term, but I’ve learned this week that taking two classes at once also has its benefits. It’s fun when a topic you’ve been discussing in one class comes up in another class—especially during the same week. It really shows me how all these different areas that I’m studying work together (in this case brand equity and public relations). This week, in my brand equity class, we’ve been studying two companies: DuPont for our class discussion and Nike for our case study assignment. The Nike case study mentions several of the celebrities who have endorsed Nike products, among them Tiger Woods. In my PR class, we’ve been talking about the pros and cons of using celebrity spokespersons, and Tiger Woods has come up in that class, too. It was interesting for me to be able to examine through my classmates’ discussions how a celebrity scandal can impact an organization from both a public relations and brand equity standpoint. Nike’s new ad featuring Tiger Woods has gotten mixed reactions. What do you guys think of it?

 

One final note—please, everyone continue to pray for our missing coal miners and all the families who have lost or are missing their loved ones. As a coal miner’s daughter, tragedies like this one hit really close to home. I know that I was giving my Dad a hard time about going fishing without me last week, but I can’t tell you how thankful I am that he’s retired now, and is able to go fishing on that stream and never has to go underground again. Love you, Dad!

Dad enjoying retirement with the resident deer

One Response to “Nike and Tiger”

  1. Ann Keaton Says:

    Even though we all know the fate of the miners, their families still need our prayers. Thanks for remembering them! I have enjoyed reading your blogs.

    Ann

Leave a Reply

