Doing Doubletime

by

Happy Friday everyone!

Well, the dust is finally starting to settle as Week 1 of the Late Spring semester comes to a close, and I’m still here! I spent the majority of this week trying to learn how to re-budget my time—now that I’m taking two classes and have double the workload. I’m starting to realize that posting on two separate discussion boards is a lot of work!

I think I’m really going to enjoy my two classes this semester, despite the hectic schedule. For my IMC 628 class (Applied PR), I get to choose a nonprofit organization to be my “client” for the semester. For IMC 613 (Brand Equity Management) I will be learning all about branding and will have to do a brand audit for my final project.

My 613 class is similar to my 610 (Intro to IMC) class in that the majority of my classmates seem to be new to the program like me. My 628 class is quite different. All of my classmates in that class are “upperclassmen” and some are even preparing to graduate soon. I’ve got to admit, it was a little intimidating logging into that class for the first time and reading about some of my classmates’ backgrounds and accomplishments. The first classmate I read about founded her own PR agency, and the second classmate I read about lives in Egypt and travels to several different countries for her work as an independent consultant. After reading these kinds of personal descriptions, it was hard for me to write about myself. What can I say? “Hi, my name is Stacy and I’ve been watching Sesame Street and playing Play-Doh with my daughter for the last two years.”

 

I complained to my husband that I didn’t know if I’d be able to contribute much to the class, and he gave me some great, if not tough, advice. He told me that, yes, I will have classmates who will undoubtedly have a lot more experience than me. The key is to learn from them.  I think I’ll take that advice!

What about the rest of you? How are your classes going?

7 Responses to “Doing Doubletime”

  1. Patti M. Says:

    Hi Stacy,

    I took one class at a time until late fall and early spring. I had both of the instructors you currently have and enjoyed learning from them. When I started the IMC program, I felt like you, I had a one year old and my classmates seemed more experienced than I was. Now at the end of the program, I seem to have more experience than my classmates. We all enjoy learning from each others diverse backgrounds. I took Applied PR early spring and Brand Equity Mgt. late fall and had the same student mix you did. I am currently in the cap stone class and cannot believe I was were you are two years ago. Time really goes by fast. I found having a daily schedule helped. Class one on Monday, Class two on Tuesday, Class one on Wednesday and Thursday, etc.

    Good luck!

    Patti Maurer

    • stacywise Says:

      Thanks for the advice, Patti! I think I’m going to adopt your one-class-per-day schedule so I can focus completely on one class at a time. Otherwise, I might go crazy. So who is your client for the capstone class? How exciting!

  2. Joanne Says:

    Hi Stacy:
    Great work with the blog… I always feel a little overwhelmed during week 1 of a class too, but then I try to break it down into manageable chunks, one post, one assignment at a time and it’s much better. I’m on my 10th class –does that make me an upperclassmen? We all approach the program from different backgrounds and that’s what makes the discussion interesting.
    By the way…I miss those Sesame Street days a bit, now that my youngest is 14! Enjoy!

    • stacywise Says:

      Hello! Yes, I would definitely classify you as an “upperclassman” 😉

      I have to register Hailey for preschool this week, and I’m having a hard time just thinking about it. I can’t even imagine what it’s going to be like when she’s a teenager! My niece will be 14 in June, and I can’t believe how fast that time has flown.

  3. Kevin Says:

    Stacy,
    I get the same feeling on the first day of every class. I ask myself, “What am I doing?”. At least you have some undergraduate and work experience in marketing and PR. I have none. That said, what excites me about this program is the fact that we learn from one another regardless of experience and educational background.

    As a Sesame Street watching, Play-Doh playing student (mom) you have a unique perspective that will give you insight that other students don’t possess. We all have unique knowledge, skills and abilities to offer, which is one aspect of the IMC program that the uninitiated cannot appreciate.

    Kevin

  4. Rob Weber Says:

    Hello Stacey,

    It can be a bit overwhelming huh? Like you, I am in two classes as well. I am in IMC 619 and IMC 618 this latter half of the semester. I work also during the day full time doing PR for St. Johns County Florida. It is hard to manage school time and family time so far. I find myself of an evening up late trying to make sure my weekly posts are complete. I try and do at least one a day in order to keep up. It gets overwhelming, but think about the end reward! Best of luck to you and keep blogging!

    Rob Weber

    wvurob.wordpress.com

  5. Julie Davis Says:

    Hi Stacy!

    I felt the same way about not being able to contribute to the class after I read my classmates’ accomplishments! I had just graduated from college and had very little work experience, let alone marketing experience. I went into the program believing that I could offer a fresh perspective on the discussions — I was the youngest in several of my classes. I learned a lot from my classmates and shed a little light on how GenNext (Millennials, etc.) sees marketing. One of the most important things that I learned in the IMC program was that everyone has something to offer that makes them unique and valuable!

    ~ Julie

Leave a Reply

