Things I learned from IMC 610

by

As my first IMC class comes to a close, I wanted to take a moment to share with you some of the things I’ve learned. The IMC 610 (Intro to IMC) class provided me with a great overview of what IMC is, and, more importantly, how IMC can benefit a company or organization. In our class discussions, we analyzed several different companies and brands (not just IKEA). Some of these companies have clearly embraced IMC, and it’s evident throughout their communication efforts. Other companies we examined haven’t completely grasped the concept of IMC yet; they are doing quite well in some areas, but are failing to put together all of the pieces of their marketing mix. With the aid of our professor, our lessons, and our classroom discussions, I think my classmates and I were able to effectively critique these companies and pick out the ones that were “getting it right.” As a new IMC student, that was pretty exciting to be able to do! Now that I think I have a solid understanding of the foundations of IMC, I’m excited to dive into what my classmate Jane refers to as the “meat and potatoes” of the program in upcoming semesters.

 This first IMC class was just as described – a ton of work! But that doesn’t mean we can’t have a little fun, too. So, I’ve compiled a list of 10 fun things I learned while in this class (besides the textbook stuff).

1. I’ve mentioned this before but I’m still amazed by the tons and tons of apps for Twitter … twittervision, twitterfeed, twhirl, tweetscan, tweetdeck, twitpic, twitterific …, and let’s not forget … Puppy Tweets. I could go on and on. And here I thought I was on top of things just by having a Twitter account. Who knew?

2. Thanks to the “Who’s Online” feature in our virtual classroom, I know I’m not the only one who does homework at really crazy, odd hours. Voyeurism at its best.

3. I am an IKEA expert, even though I’ve never been to an IKEA store. Did you know that IKEA was founded in Sweden, and that the company offers a broad range of 9,500 functional home furnishing products at low costs? Did you know that 80% of IKEA’s sales occur in Europe, while 15% of the company’s sales are in North America and 5% are in Asia and Australia?  I didn’t think so.

4. Toyota is in one hot PR mess.

5. There are iPhone users … and there Blackberry users … there are Mac people … and there are PC people. And each of these users is very passionate and brand loyal about his or her preferred choice.

6. Even if WVU closes its campus for a snow day, IMC students still have to “report to class” and “turn in homework.”  Bummer.

7. Professor Creely and I share a love of Jeeps.

8. Balancing an IMC class with the other things in your life is kind of like dieting. If you’re really good and get your work done, then you can splurge sometimes.

9. Online classes can be more interactive than traditional ones. Even for shy people like me.

10. You don’t have to have the answers for everything. Your professor does.  🙂

On another note, one of my classmates from IMC 610 mentioned that he would like to hear from some current IMC students who have taken two courses together. How did that work out for you? What was the workload like? There are a few of us in my 610 class who are thinking about adding a second class in Late Spring, so any advice from you “upperclassmen” (or Professor Stump?) would be greatly appreciated!

Good luck next semester, everyone. See you all Late Spring! 

6 Responses to “Things I learned from IMC 610”

  1. Mike S Says:

    Stacy, I love #8! Many times this term, I did a good amount of work on an assignment and ended up finishing it early. So of course I had to reward myself with some video game time! I love the dieting comparison…

  2. Shelly Stump Says:

    As far as taking two classes at the same time, it is possible to do so successfully, but plan to have very little personal time if you do so.

    When I tell students to budget 12-15 hours per week for each course, they never believe me. Then they start the program and say, “Oh…you were serious about that, weren’t you?” So do the math and realize that to be successful in two courses you are looking at 24-30 hours a week dedicated to your school work. Students before you have done it and been successful but just realize that it takes a serious time committment.

    As far as what courses work best to take together, I don’t have any magic answers. It really depends on the individual, their strengths and preferences. The only course that I consistently hear is tough to juggle with another course is Emerging Media and the Market (IMC 619). The workload of the weekly writing assignments and keeping a blog make it difficult to have time for another course.

  3. Keith Quesenberry Says:

    Hi Stacy:

    I can relate to the Apple vs. PC vs. iPhone vs. Blackberry thing. I’m a Mac and for a while there It seemed like I could relate every and anything back to Apple and/or Steve Jobs.

    Keith

    • stacywise Says:

      I know what you mean. I’ve also had the conversation with a few of my friends that everything can be related back to Facebook. It doesn’t matter what we’re talking about, but eventually someone will say something like, “Oh, I read that on so-and-so’s status update” Hahahaha!

      As far as the Mac/PC thing … I’m all over the place. I have a PC but I also have an iPhone … and I love them both. 🙂

  4. Julie Davis Says:

    Hi Stacy!

    I love the top 10 things you learned! It made me think back to when I took my first IMC class; I’m in the Campaigns course now! I found that as I moved through the IMC program, I became an expert on a handful of companies that either did things really great or really bad. Several of my classmates are the same way… I had class with a friend who used VW for all of his examples. If he didn’t use VW, I was disappointed!

    To answer some of your questions at the end of your post, it is possible to take 2 classes at a time. I did so throughout most of my IMC terms. I developed a routine that kept me on task. This routine is vital! Make sure that you set a certain day/time for initial posts, replies, research and homework. It seems a bit overwhelming at first, but you can do it! To determine which classes should be taken with each other, look at the syllabus. The New Media class requires you to keep a blog; this takes more work than other classes. If you have specific questions, find me on
    Facebook: Julie Davis. I’ll be glad to share my experiences, tricks and tips!

    ~ Julie

Leave a Reply

