IMC Version 2.0.1.0.

by

Hi everyone! Welcome to the IMC blog, Version 2.0.1.0. My name is Stacy Wise, and you’ve just won a VIP ticket to hop aboard the IMC train with me, so here we go!

I’ve just started the IMC program (Early Spring 2010), and I’m currently taking IMC 610 with Professor Stacey Creely. I will be your resident blogger for the entire time I’m in the program, so I’ll be with you for a while. Lucky you!

A little bit about me.  West Virginia has always been home to me. I grew up in Fairmont, WV, which is about 20 minutes south of Morgantown. As you can probably guess, I’ve always been a Mountaineer, and I earned my undergraduate degree in advertising from our very own P.I. Reed School of Journalism.

My husband Mark and I have been together for seven years, married for four. Mark is a computer geek, and I mean that in a most affectionate way (ha ha). He is a co-founder of Threewide Corporation—a technology company that helps brokers and agents market properties. We have a 2-year-old daughter, Hailey, who is a Pittsburgh Steelers fan. She is especially fond of Ben Roethlisberger and Troy Polamalu. I have had no influence on this matter whatsoever. Honest.

The Wises

Steeler fans

My first job post-college was as a copy editor for Morgantown’s local newspaper, The Dominion Post. It was a really fun job, and I learned a lot. But, let’s be honest. Working afternoon shift and weekends doesn’t exactly do wonders for your social life …

So, after working in the newsroom for a year I took a job as a writer/editor in the planning and marketing department at WVU Hospitals. I worked there doing internal communications and public relations until Hailey arrived in 2007. At that time, I quit working full-time to be a stay-at-home Mom for a few years, and did some freelance work on the side. Which brings us to today. I am excited to be back in school, and confident that an IMC degree will help me find a great job when that time comes.

The majority of you current and prospective IMC students live out of state, and I’ll bet that many of you have probably never been to West Virginia. So, here are a few fun facts that I’ve gathered for you current and prospective Mountaineers (I promise this is NOT a history lesson!).

  • Mother’s Day was first observed at Andrews Church in Grafton, WV, on May 10, 1908.

First Mother's Day, Grafton, WV.

  • West Virginia University was established on February 7, 1867, under the name of “Agricultural College of West Virginia.”

Early photo of Martin Hall, WVU. 1872.

Martin Hall today (Home of the WVU P. I. Reed School of Journalism).

  • Outdoor advertising originated in Wheeling, WV, around 1908 when the Block Brothers Tobacco Company painted bridges and barns with the wording: “Treat Yourself to the Best, Chew Mail Pouch.”

Mail Pouch tobacco sign

  • The longest steel arch bridge (1,700 feet) in the world is the New River Gorge Bridge in WV. Every year a Bridge Day is held here, where people BASE jump off the bridge. (Jumping off a bridge isn’t my cup of tea, and I’ve never personally attended a Bridge Day, but I’ve heard it’s a lot of fun to watch).

New River Gorge, WV

  • Pepperoni rolls originated at the Country Club Bakery in my hometown of Fairmont, WV. (If you don’t know what a pepperoni roll is, you should really learn .)

The pepperoni roll -- a West Virginia must.

Well, I really didn’t mean to write you a novel, so let’s wrap this up and call it a day. My wish for this blog is for it to be as interactive as possible, so I want to hear back from you! Some of you I’ve already “met” in class, and I will be twisting your virtual arms to participate—you know who you are. Tell me (and everyone else) about yourself, where you live, and why you joined (or want to join) the IMC program. If you are a prospective student reading this blog ask me questions!

Until we blog again…

Stacy

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “IMC Version 2.0.1.0.”

  1. wvasthma Says:

    Awesome blog Stacy!

  2. Patti M. Says:

    Hi Stacy,

    As you are beginning your IMC quest, I am ending mine as I enter the final course in less than two weeks. The first half of the journey felt long, the second half too short. I really enjoyed the courses, students, and professors. I hope you enjoy the journey. What you put into the program is what you get out of it.

    Patti

  3. stacywise Says:

    Hi Patti,

    Nice to hear from you! I wish you the best of luck in your campaigns class, and I hope that you will keep us updated on how things are going. I’ve looked at some of the students’ final IMC projects for that class — the ones that are posted on the IMC Web site — and they are really impressive! Now that you have taken nearly all of your courses, which ones were your favorites?

Leave a Reply

