2014 Business Book Reading List

by

In 2013, I read about how to lean in to the conversation, make content contagious, and most importantly open social media side doors that I did not even knew existed! Published authors during 2013 did not disappoint and I can’t wait to see what Simon Sinek has in-store with his upcoming release titled, “Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Don’t.”

With almost every thought leader producing their own version of the facts, I have started to think very strategically about the books I add to my reading list. Many of the books I read last year just seemed to fall into my lap and I did not have a plan of what I wanted to accomplish with my reading. As a result, I was disappointed by a few of the books that did not offer a unique voice. Many authors quote each other too much and the examples they provide become a he said, she said running dialogue of praise.

One of the exceptions last year was a book by Ian Greenleigh titled, “The Social Media Side Door,” which offered a distinct perspective on how to make social media work for you and how to seek out those with the social proof to help you achieve your goals. He provided action steps, tips, and tricks to his readers that even involved reaching out to him directly. His approach was transparent and honest, which rang true with the premise of his book.

Below are 15 books that have made my 2014 reading list (only one is published in 2014). If you have any other recommendations, I would love to hear about them in the comments section.

Special note:
If you attend Integrate this year, Gini Dietrich, one of the authors on my list, is going to be presenting topics from her new book “Spin Sucks.” In advance of attending, make sure you brush up on the material so that you have ample questions to ask during the Q/A discussion.

(The list below is in no particular order.)

“Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Don’t” by Simon Sinek

LEL_forcart_600

Creative Confidence” by David M. Kelley and Tom Kelley
creative_confidence

 

The Myths of Creativity: The Truth About How Innovative Companies and People Generate Great Ideas” by David Burkus

Myths-of-Creativity-David-Burkus

 

“CTRL ALT Delete” by Mitch Joel
book_ctrlaltdelete

 

“Daring Greatly” by Brené Brown
PJ-BK489_FIXREA_DV_20121029185111

“Spin Sucks” by Gini Dietrich

 

Spin Sucks

 

“Marketing in the Round: How to Develop an Integrated Marketing Campaign in the Digital Era” by Gini Dietrich and Geoff Livingston
Marketing-in-the-Round-cover-203x300.jpe

 

“What’s the Future of Business” by Brian Solis
wtfbusiness

 

“Purple Cow” by Seth Godin

51dERT-tQ0L

“Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less” by Joe Pulizzi

71BeBZO3pGL._SL1500_

“Give and Take: A Revolutionary Approach to Success” by Adam M. Grant, Ph.D.

adam-grant-give-and-take-book-cover

“Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind” (The 99U Book Series) by Jocelyn K. Glei launch_572x429

 

“APE: Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur-How to Publish a Book” by Guy Kawasaki ape-1667x2500

 

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “2014 Business Book Reading List”

  1. Mike Brice Says:

    Here are a few books that I would recommend.

    Drive by Dan Pink

    The Halo Effect by Phil Rosenzweig

    The Signal and the Noise by Nate Silver

    Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

    The Black Swan and Fooled by Randomness by Taleb.

  2. juliealong Says:

    Mike,

    I will take a look at those recommendations. Thank you!

  3. katshanahan Says:

    Thanks for sharing Julie!

    Here are a few I read in 2013:

    UnMarketing
    The Book of Business Awesome/UnAwesome
    QR Codes Kill Kittens

    All by Scott Stratten and all are fantastic.

    Zag – Marty Neumeier

    Looking forward to reading in 2014:

    I’ve Been Called the B* Word…Now What Do I Do? – Dr. R. Kay Green

    The Designful Company – Mary Neumeier

    Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust – Chris Brogan and Julien Smith

    Like you I’m also looking forward to Spin Sucks and seeing Gini at Integrate.

    Thanks for sharing your reading list!

    • juliealong Says:

      Kat,

      I started listening to the UnMarketing podcast after you mentioned it in your post. I will check out his books as well. See you at Integrate this year. Thanks for the other suggestions!

      -Julie

  4. Kris Prendergast Says:

    I’m reading The Marketing Agency Blueprint by Paul Roetzer. It’s a great resource for marketing entrepreneurs.

  5. Colin Haas (@ColinH80) Says:

    Hi Julie! Great list and some I hadn’t heard of yet. I keep an Evernote “Books to Read” Notebook so I will add some of the ones you mentioned that I didn’t know about. While some of these are main stream, I would add:

    1. “Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook” – Gary Vaynerchuk
    2. “Youtility” by Jay Baer
    3. “Thinkertoys: A Handbook of Creative-Thinking Techniques (2nd Edition)” by Michael Michalko
    4. “Brand Media Strategy: Integrated Communications Planning in the Digital Era” by Antony Young

  6. Gini Dietrich (@ginidietrich) Says:

    Super good list in your blog post AND here in the comments. I’m going to go through and see what I haven’t read yet and add to my list.

    See you later this year!

  7. Darryl Robinson-Keys (@Digital_DRK) Says:

    Great list Julie, some I have already read, some are on my 2014 list, and a few I am not (yet) familiar with, however, now I plan to be.

  8. Wendy L. Says:

    I have to share a fantastic book I just read (a must read for all entrepreneurs!) entitled, “Liber8 Your Business” by author Laura Humphreys (http://liber8yourbusiness.com)
    The website allows you to sample the book before you buy it, but I
    assure you it’s a worthwhile investment. This book is for anyone who has a business that is entirely dependent on them. Many business owners do not think of the bigger picture or long terms goals (there is always just too many things to take care of right now!). The book features 8 steps to financial freedom along with an accompanying workbook to help you organize your thinking and plan out your dream business from A-Z. This was one of the main reasons I enjoyed this book because it’s so interactive and can almost be compared to taking a mini business class! There are exercises and tutorials throughout the book along with the
    author’s inspirational story of starting as a secretary in an
    advertising company and her journey to becoming the owner of a
    multimillion dollar business. I hope this book will make it on one of your future recommendation lists :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

