How I’m spending my summer vacation: volunteering and becoming an outdoorsy girl!

by

Last week was a busy one here in Canton, Ohio! I’m on a committee through the Downtown Canton Special Improvement District and my local young professionals initiative, ystark! that put together a free outdoor movie series called Cinema in the City. It is a three part event, and last Wednesday, we showed our first movie, Jurassic Park, to about a 150 Stark County movie enthusiasts.

This event, although only 1/3 of the way completed, reminded me how much fun I have volunteering. It was extremely gratifying to be a part of a successful event, hopefully one that continues for summers to come.

Here are some fun photos from the night:


It was a packed house way before dark!


Me with two other committee members

The day after Cinema in the City, I left for my 3-day annual work retreat, a camping trip with 109 people! Wow! Between outdoor movies and activities like camping – maybe I really am an outdoor girl?!?

Last year at the work retreat, I brought a lot of schoolwork and my final project for IMC 610 to proof. In fact, I was a little stressed attempting to complete work for an online class in a rural area of Ohio that didn’t even offer cell phone service, but, like all of us IMC students do, I made it work. This year however, since I took the summer off, I was able to enjoy the trip even more.

Next up in Canton is our Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival at the end of July. There are many volunteer opportunities throughout the event and I’m hoping to be a part of the festival in one form or another!

Do you have a favorite volunteering activity or service? If so, post your answer!

3 Responses to “How I’m spending my summer vacation: volunteering and becoming an outdoorsy girl!”

  1. Jennifer Graber Says:

    Outdoor movies are fun. There is a resort here that is showing them on the beach on a big blow-up screen. I keep meaning to go to one but haven’t yet. Maybe by the end of the summer.

    In regards to your question–my favorite volunteer opportunity so far has probably been Relay For Life. I have been involved in it a few times and have enjoyed it. It is a cause near and dear to my heart. I want to expand my volunteering though.

    It sounds like you are enjoying your summer off from course work.

  2. nicolehagy Says:

    Relay for Life is a great cause. I have never walked in it – but I know many who support it each year.

    Thanks for the comment, Jennifer! Hope things are going well for you!

  3. Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival « WVU IMC Student Blog Says:

    [...] had posted previously that I enjoy volunteering in my community and hoped to be a part of the festival in one shape or [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

